Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday July 12th @ 7 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Director Ming Wang, M.D., Ph.D. SMILE Services

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Dr. Ming Wang, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  May 02, 2022

10/10!! I’ve wanted to have vision correction for the longest time. I have worn glasses since the age of 7 and contacts from my teen years. Now 36 I have no of ever seeing without having to have them on. With vision at -6 I couldn’t do anything in my daily life without having them on. I chose to do the SMILE correction surgery with Dr. Wang this past week and already I see 20/20! It’s the most amazing feeling to wake up and see my children and my husband without looking for my glasses. The moment surgery was completed I got extremely emotional being able to see in the room immediately. Dr. Wang is an extremely talented surgeon and deeply cares for his patients. He even prayed with me before he began the surgery. That alone made me feel calm and at ease. His staff is wonderful from the front desk welcoming you as soon as you walk in to the door to the optometrists making sure your eyes are healthy and ready for surgery and all of the other staff in between! They make you feel like family and not a patient. I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute for your vision correction needs! You only want the best for your eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 12, 2022

I recently had the opportunity to visit and have the SMILE procedure done to correct my vision. I had an AMAZING experience from start to finish. The appointment set up process was smooth and easy-- as the New Patient Coordinator was helpful and responsive. When going into the office, i was able to have my consult and procedure done on the same day. The entire office was kind and pleasant-- and didn't mind answering the millions of questions that came to mind. When preparing for the procedure, I was walked through the entire process-- making me feel confident of what i was walking into. Dr Wang was also very enthusiastic and knowledgable. He definitely made me feel comfortable throughout the whole procedure. He even prayed before we began-- which calmed my nerves. The procedure itself was painless and QUICK. Now that I'm a week post-op, I am so very happy that I did it-- and should have done it sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.D.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 08, 2022

I had SMILE procedure a week ago. The staff at this office went far beyond to help me get my eye surgery. They were very informative about recommendations on what procedure to get. It was a fast and painless experience when Wang did the surgery and I really did have a huge smile afterwards when I could see without my glasses. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 01, 2022

It is life changing to wake up and not have to deal with contacts or glasses. I went from being very nearsighted to 20/20 vision with the SMILE procedure. Wang Vision Institute made the process so easy and their team is amazing! Scheduling is simple, everyone is super nice, and they are sure to keep you completely informed of what to expect next. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 01, 2022

This changed my life. My livelihood depends on my eyes, and I chose Wang Vision because of their reputability. I went in for a consult, and although I was not a candidate for Lasik, I was still a candidate for SMILE. I was fortunate enough to get my procedure done on the same day! I was pretty nervous about starting the procedure, but the staff was amazing and made me feel so comfortable and relaxed (as I could be lol). The procedure was quick, and Dr. Wang commanded so much confidence and care, there was little for me to worry about. The techs during the procedure were very helpful in coaching me through the process too! I'm so glad I chose Wang Vision since it is the only institute in the state that offers the SMILE procedure that I needed, I didn't need to be referred anywhere else. Post procedure, it was much more comfortable than others' experience with Lasik, and I am already seeing 20/20 after four days. I highly recommend SMILE if you are a candidate! I would only trust my vision with Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 01, 2022

We came to Wang Vision Institute to check if my best friend could get any eye surgery for her to see better. Just so you know, she had -12 in one eye only. Dr. Ming Wang performed the surgery, and this man is a man of God. surgery went well she got the Smile! I feel so honored to meet him and that my best friend can enjoy her eyes for a long time. I'm grateful to God that He made this able for her, and I believe He still can make a complete miracle in her eyes. I believe doctors and medical professionals are the hands of God here on Earth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 01, 2022

I could not be happier with my experience at Wang Vision Institute! The staff was personable, knowledgeable, and made me feel confident that my vision was a priority to them. Dr. Frankel performed my SMILE surgery and both he and the staff calmed my nerves and were so kind. Basically as soon as I sat up from the table, I was able to see, and my vision has improved daily since the day of surgery (3 days ago now). My prescription with contacts was a -5.75 .... I couldn't function without them, and now I am driving and doing normal activities with NO glasses or contacts. I went back for my follow up today and I now have 20/20 vision (cue the tears of joy). This surgery has truly been lifechanging, and I am so so thankful that I was able to have such a wonderful experience and team of doctors and staff to take care of me. If you're considering Wang Vision for any surgery, you can look forward to receiving the best quality in service and skill! I would absolutely choose this company and Dr. Frankel again if I had to do it over. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 06, 2021

We came to Wang Vision Institute to check if my best friend could get any eye surgery for her to see better. Just so you know, she had -12 in one eye only. Dr. Ming Wang performed the surgery, and this man is a man of God. surgery went well she got the Smile! I feel so honored to meet him and that my best friend can enjoy her eyes for a long time. I'm grateful to God that He made this able for her, and I believe He still can make a complete miracle in her eyes. I believe doctors and medical professionals are the hands of God here on Earth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 21, 2021

The staff at Wang Vision are so friendly and answered all my questions without hesitation! I felt very comfortable following through with SMILE Lasik Eye Surgery and I highly recommend them for anyone looking for experts in this field! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 07, 2021

Everyone at Wang Vision Institute is amazing! Dr. Frenkel and James the Surgery Tech took me through a flawless SMILE procedure! They were thorough, careful, and explained everything along the way. Dr. Frenkel even sent a follow up text that evening to make sure I was doing well in recovery. I would recommend them to anyone contemplating vision correction surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 12, 2021

I finally decided it was time to look into getting Lasik eye surgery and completed the webinar offered by Wang Vision Institute. I learned a lot about the procedure and even received a discount for scheduling a free consultation appointment. It was easy to schedule and they give excellent directions on where to park and go once you get there. I had the SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel and couldn't be happier. It was painless, quick, and highly effective. Im still in disbelief that I'm seeing this well with my own eyes and im no longer dependent on contacts! Dr. Frenkel and his staff went above and beyond to talk me through each step of the procedure and ensure I was comfortable. They played music and even gave me a blanket and something to squeeze if I was anxious during the procedure. They even texted to check on how I was doing that evening. My only regret is I didn't do this years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 01, 2021

Dr. Frenkel performed the SMILE procedure on both eyes and it has truly changed my life for the better. I have been wearing glasses since the 2nd grade and needless to say that has been a long time! My prescription was extremely high and I went in for a reduction. On my follow up visit I could see 20/25 which is amazing! The staff was friendly and thorough. They answered my questions and made me feel extremely comfortable about the process. Thank you Dr. Frenkel and Wang Vision Institute for my new vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 30, 2021

I’m so glad I went to Wang Vision! Have had terrible eyesight for 20 years and after hearing some good testimonies from some friends of mine, decided it was time. Had my consultation and surgery same day. The SMILE surgery was quick, painless, and even before the next day I could see so clearly. I’m so thankful and excited and hope everyone gives them a call! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 17, 2021

I had my SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel, and it has truly changed the quality of my life for the better. I had been wearing corrective lenses for 30 years, with horrible vision; and I really do feel like I have been given such an amazing gift. The entire staff is nothing short of professional and kind, and I had a great experience even though I was nervous. Dr. Zimmerman did my initial exam as well as my check ups, and was great at answering all of my questions. Dr. Frenkel and his tech James were amazing at talking me through the entire procedure and putting me at ease. Dr. Frenkel even reached later out to make sure I was doing okay. I would (and have) recommend Wang Vision Institute to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 10, 2021

I had the Smile done yesterday and everyone there at Wang Vision was very nice and helpful. They did an outstanding job in every area. Dr. Frenkel and his assistant did a great job of telling me what to expect through each step of the procedure. My vision is so much better today just a little cloudy which is normal. I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute for anyone wanting their vision corrected. Awesome experience!! 😀 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 08, 2021

Great experience! Got SMILE a couple days ago and was treated by Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Johnson. They were both incredibly professional and friendly, walking me through the entire process and answering any questions I had. The procedure was quick and painless, and my eyes are healing as expected. Every other staff member that I interacted with was fantastic. Definitely recommend the Wang Institute for refractive surgery More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 23, 2021

I had a previous consultation with another doctor and found out I did not qualify for lasik. Due to my thin cornea and terrible vision, I would've had to get PRK. I decided to get a second opinion with Wang Vision. I arrived early and instead of a long wait, they saw me immediately. I was surprised to hear that I was a candidate for 3D Smile and happily proceeded with the procedure. They gave me numbing drops and something to calm my nerves. They provided me a warm blanket to cover up while laying down. The eye surgery itself took about 30 seconds per eye. My worst fear was going blind during the operation but that never happened. Dr Wang covered up one eye at a time and had me stare at a red dot that alerts you when your eye wanders off. I never felt pain during the entire operation. When it was all done, I could still see, although everything was blurry. I went home and took my nap. Dr Wang even called me that night to check on me! I stayed on top of my eye drops and limited my screen time to optimize my healing time. My vision was much sharper the next day and I had little recovery discomfort. My vision went from 20/30 on my one week post op check, 20/20 on my second checkup, and even better at 20/15 on my latest checkup! I am so pleased with my entire experience and will recommend Wang Vision to anyone considering lasik!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 22, 2021

I can’t thank Dr. Frenkel enough for my amazing experience at Wang Vision. All of the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. They go through all of your options in detail, and allow time for you to ask any and all questions you may have. They also made me feel incredibly comfortable during the procedure, and I knew I was in great hands. They talked me through the entire procedure, so I knew exactly what was about to happen and for how long. It definitely helped me remain calm during the procedure. As soon as the procedure was over, my vision already improved. I had SMILE done, and I would rank the recovery as mildly discomfort. Not too painful at all! I slept for the rest of the day, per their instructions, and was able to see perfectly by the next day! This procedure is absolutely life changing, and I highly highly highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 12, 2021

If you're considering Lasiks, but scared to take the plunge...go see the doctors at Wang Vision. Dr. Frenkel and all his staff were so patient with me and helped me make the BEST decision ever. I am one week in from having the 3D Smile procedure and I am at 20/15 Vision...you can't even see my incisions anymore and I have very little discomfort. Thank you team for making me feel safe and calm throughout this experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 07, 2019

I have worn contacts/glasses for over 18 years. Friday, Dr. Wang performed 3D SMILE on me and now I never have to wear glasses or contacts again! The entire staff made me feel at ease and took such good care of me. Dr. Wang prayed before the procedure and walked verbally walked me through every step. My vision was so poor before this surgery that I could be sitting next to someone without glasses and not be able to see their facial features. This process is miraculous. I am still so overwhelmed with emotion and have been reflecting on scripture relating to blind eyes being opened in such a different light. Thank you Dr. Wang and the entire staff for changing my life through the incredible gifts you have been given. I highly recommend Wang Vision to anyone eligible for corrective eye surgery. I wish I had done this years ago. 🙏 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from O.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 18, 2018

I received 3D Smile Lasik and I couldn’t be happier with my results! It’s only been a day yet my vision has already vastly improved! I highly recommend Dr. Wang to anyone interested in permanently correcting their vision. Haley was also extremely helpful throughout the process. 👍🏼 More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.