Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday November 2nd @ 7 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Director Ming Wang, M.D., Ph.D. Laser Vision Correction Services

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Drs. Ming Wang and Josh Frenkel, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter34 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 07, 2021

Everyone at Wang Vision Institute is amazing! Dr. Frenkel and James the Surgery Tech took me through a flawless SMILE procedure! They were thorough, careful, and explained everything along the way. Dr. Frenkel even sent a follow up text that evening to make sure I was doing well in recovery. I would recommend them to anyone contemplating vision correction surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 12, 2021

I finally decided it was time to look into getting Lasik eye surgery and completed the webinar offered by Wang Vision Institute. I learned a lot about the procedure and even received a discount for scheduling a free consultation appointment. It was easy to schedule and they give excellent directions on where to park and go once you get there. I had the SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel and couldn't be happier. It was painless, quick, and highly effective. Im still in disbelief that I'm seeing this well with my own eyes and im no longer dependent on contacts! Dr. Frenkel and his staff went above and beyond to talk me through each step of the procedure and ensure I was comfortable. They played music and even gave me a blanket and something to squeeze if I was anxious during the procedure. They even texted to check on how I was doing that evening. My only regret is I didn't do this years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 01, 2021

Dr. Frenkel performed the SMILE procedure on both eyes and it has truly changed my life for the better. I have been wearing glasses since the 2nd grade and needless to say that has been a long time! My prescription was extremely high and I went in for a reduction. On my follow up visit I could see 20/25 which is amazing! The staff was friendly and thorough. They answered my questions and made me feel extremely comfortable about the process. Thank you Dr. Frenkel and Wang Vision Institute for my new vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 30, 2021

I’m so glad I went to Wang Vision! Have had terrible eyesight for 20 years and after hearing some good testimonies from some friends of mine, decided it was time. Had my consultation and surgery same day. The SMILE surgery was quick, painless, and even before the next day I could see so clearly. I’m so thankful and excited and hope everyone gives them a call! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 17, 2021

I had my SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel, and it has truly changed the quality of my life for the better. I had been wearing corrective lenses for 30 years, with horrible vision; and I really do feel like I have been given such an amazing gift. The entire staff is nothing short of professional and kind, and I had a great experience even though I was nervous. Dr. Zimmerman did my initial exam as well as my check ups, and was great at answering all of my questions. Dr. Frenkel and his tech James were amazing at talking me through the entire procedure and putting me at ease. Dr. Frenkel even reached later out to make sure I was doing okay. I would (and have) recommend Wang Vision Institute to anyone! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 10, 2021

I had the Smile done yesterday and everyone there at Wang Vision was very nice and helpful. They did an outstanding job in every area. Dr. Frenkel and his assistant did a great job of telling me what to expect through each step of the procedure. My vision is so much better today just a little cloudy which is normal. I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute for anyone wanting their vision corrected. Awesome experience!! 😀 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 08, 2021

Great experience! Got SMILE a couple days ago and was treated by Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Johnson. They were both incredibly professional and friendly, walking me through the entire process and answering any questions I had. The procedure was quick and painless, and my eyes are healing as expected. Every other staff member that I interacted with was fantastic. Definitely recommend the Wang Institute for refractive surgery More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 19, 2021

It is so nice to be able to wake up and see my clock in the morning. My eye sight is better now than I ever remember being able to see before. Just looking at the sky and the clouds is so amazing. It’s such a blessing to be able to finally see all of Gods wonderful details when I am outside hiking, fishing, and hunting. Everyone at the Wang Vision Institute was very nice and understanding. I was nervous coming in, but each individual was very reassuring and explained everything that was being done and going to be done throughout the procedure and recovery. I highly recommend getting the Lasik eye surgery at their institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 23, 2021

I had a previous consultation with another doctor and found out I did not qualify for lasik. Due to my thin cornea and terrible vision, I would've had to get PRK. I decided to get a second opinion with Wang Vision. I arrived early and instead of a long wait, they saw me immediately. I was surprised to hear that I was a candidate for 3D Smile and happily proceeded with the procedure. They gave me numbing drops and something to calm my nerves. They provided me a warm blanket to cover up while laying down. The eye surgery itself took about 30 seconds per eye. My worst fear was going blind during the operation but that never happened. Dr Wang covered up one eye at a time and had me stare at a red dot that alerts you when your eye wanders off. I never felt pain during the entire operation. When it was all done, I could still see, although everything was blurry. I went home and took my nap. Dr Wang even called me that night to check on me! I stayed on top of my eye drops and limited my screen time to optimize my healing time. My vision was much sharper the next day and I had little recovery discomfort. My vision went from 20/30 on my one week post op check, 20/20 on my second checkup, and even better at 20/15 on my latest checkup! I am so pleased with my entire experience and will recommend Wang Vision to anyone considering lasik!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 22, 2021

I can’t thank Dr. Frenkel enough for my amazing experience at Wang Vision. All of the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. They go through all of your options in detail, and allow time for you to ask any and all questions you may have. They also made me feel incredibly comfortable during the procedure, and I knew I was in great hands. They talked me through the entire procedure, so I knew exactly what was about to happen and for how long. It definitely helped me remain calm during the procedure. As soon as the procedure was over, my vision already improved. I had SMILE done, and I would rank the recovery as mildly discomfort. Not too painful at all! I slept for the rest of the day, per their instructions, and was able to see perfectly by the next day! This procedure is absolutely life changing, and I highly highly highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 17, 2021

I just want to give Wang Vision and Dr. Frenkel a big thank you for taking care of me. I had Lasik March 5th so I'm 11 days out from surgery, and I'm happy to say that everything has gone beyond what I expected everyone was so nice, and professional I recommend Wang Vision for anyone wanting to have Lasik eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 17, 2021

I just want to give Wang Vision and Dr. Frenkel a big thank you for taking care of me. I had Lasik March 5th so I'm 11 days out from surgery, and I'm happy to say that everything has gone beyond what I expected everyone was so nice, and professional I recommend Wang Vision for anyone wanting to have Lasik eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 12, 2021

If you're considering Lasiks, but scared to take the plunge...go see the doctors at Wang Vision. Dr. Frenkel and all his staff were so patient with me and helped me make the BEST decision ever. I am one week in from having the 3D Smile procedure and I am at 20/15 Vision...you can't even see my incisions anymore and I have very little discomfort. Thank you team for making me feel safe and calm throughout this experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 25, 2019

I am recovering from LASIK Cataract surgery and I must say the improvement In my vision over just a few days is amazing. Thank you Dr. Wang. May God bless you More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 07, 2019

I have worn contacts/glasses for over 18 years. Friday, Dr. Wang performed 3D SMILE on me and now I never have to wear glasses or contacts again! The entire staff made me feel at ease and took such good care of me. Dr. Wang prayed before the procedure and walked verbally walked me through every step. My vision was so poor before this surgery that I could be sitting next to someone without glasses and not be able to see their facial features. This process is miraculous. I am still so overwhelmed with emotion and have been reflecting on scripture relating to blind eyes being opened in such a different light. Thank you Dr. Wang and the entire staff for changing my life through the incredible gifts you have been given. I highly recommend Wang Vision to anyone eligible for corrective eye surgery. I wish I had done this years ago. 🙏 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 28, 2018

I had Lasik yesterday & to be able to wake up & see without my glasses is a miracle...I do believe God uses Dr Wang as his servant on earth...Blessings to Dr Wang & Staff !! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from O.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 18, 2018

I received 3D Smile Lasik and I couldn’t be happier with my results! It’s only been a day yet my vision has already vastly improved! I highly recommend Dr. Wang to anyone interested in permanently correcting their vision. Haley was also extremely helpful throughout the process. 👍🏼 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2017

My Husband, Chris Pyles, recently had the Lasik eye surgery to correct his eyes. (August 11, 2017). He went for his check up and everything is great and he is seeing so much better than he thought he would. He has been in glasses/contacts for over 10 years and as we were so very nervous to have this done, Dr. Ming Wang and his whole entire office made us feel like family. The staff there was so sweet, nice and informative. We were amazed at the Customer Service there!! I wo...rk in a Dr. office for ears and we take pride in our Customer Service and too be on the other side of the window and get that treatment is a wonderful feeling. The surgery was fast and Dr. Wang did an excellent job. I loved that he stopped and prayed over Chris and himself before the surgery. He even took the time to call our cell phones that night to check in on my husband. That means more to us than he will ever know! I'm so pleased that we chose his office to have this surgery done. We really couldn't ask for a better place! A HUGE THANK YOU goes to you and your office for all you do! We need more offices like you! I would highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2017

My Husband, Chris Pyles, recently had the Lasik eye surgery to correct his eyes. (August 11, 2017). He went for his check up and everything is great and he is seeing so much better than he thought he would. He has been in glasses/contacts for over 10 years and as we were so very nervous to have this done, Dr. Ming Wang and his whole entire office made us feel like family. The staff there was so sweet, nice and informative. We were amazed at the Customer Service there!! I work in a Dr. office for ears and we take pride in our Customer Service and too be on the other side of the window and get that treatment is a wonderful feeling. The surgery was fast and Dr. Wang did an excellent job. I… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2017

My Husband, Chris Pyles, recently had the Lasik eye surgery to correct his eyes. (August 11, 2017). He went for his check up and everything is great and he is seeing so much better than he thought he would. He… More has been in glasses/contacts for over 10 years and as we were so very nervous to have this done, Dr. Ming Wang and his whole entire office made us feel like family. The staff there was so sweet, nice and informative. We were amazed at the Customer Service there!! I work in a Dr. office for ears and we take pride in our Customer Service and too be on the other side of the window and get that treatment is a wonderful feeling. The surgery was fast and Dr. Wang did an excellent job. I… More More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2017

My Husband, Chris Pyles, recently had the Lasik eye surgery to correct his eyes. (August 11, 2017). He went for his check up and everything is great and he is seeing so much better than he thought he would. He has been in glasses/contacts for over 10 years and as we were so very nervous to have this done, Dr. Ming Wang and his whole entire office made us feel like family. The staff there was so sweet, nice and informative. We were amazed at the Customer Service there!! I work in a Dr. office for ears and we take pride in our Customer Service and too be on the other side of the window and get that treatment is a wonderful feeling. The surgery was fast and Dr. Wang did an excellent job. I loved that he stopped and prayed over Chris and himself before the surgery. He even took the time to call our cell phones that night to check in on my husband. That means more to us than he will ever know! I'm so pleased that we chose his office to have this surgery done. We really couldn't ask for a better place! A HUGE THANK YOU goes to you and your office for all you do! We need more offices like you! I would highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from V.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 22, 2017

My Husband, Chris Pyles, recently had the Lasik eye surgery to correct his eyes. (August 11, 2017). He went for his check up and everything is great and he is seeing so much better than he thought he would. He has been in glasses/contacts for over 10 years and as we were so very nervous to have this done, Dr. Ming Wang and his whole entire office made us feel like family. The staff there was so sweet, nice and informative. We were amazed at the Customer Service there!! I work in a Dr. office for ears and we take pride in our Customer Service and too be on the other side of the window and get that treatment is a wonderful feeling. The surgery was fast and Dr. Wang did an excellent job. I loved that he stopped and prayed over Chris and himself before the surgery. He even took the time to call our cell phones that night to check in on my husband. That means more to us than he will ever know! I'm so pleased that we chose his office to have this surgery done. We really couldn't ask for a better place! A HUGE THANK YOU goes to you and your office for all you do! We need more offices like you! I would highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from P.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Sep 05, 2016

Thanking God for the amazing Dr Wang! He did my LASIK surgery 16 years ago and as of my checkup last week my vision is still 20/20! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 15, 2015

I was not considering having 3D Lasik performed until my best friend did. Her surgery went very well and she has 20/20 vision. After wearing glasses since in the middle school, I was ready for the procedure. I would not have gone anywhere else. Even my God parents come to Dr. Wang. He performs the only 3D Lasik procedure that is bladeless in TN. My surgery was in a matter of minutes. I could even see right after surgery, but it is important to keep the eyes closed for the healing process. In 24 hours I went from relying on glasses and contacts constantly to seeing 20/15 without any corrective lenses. Dr. Wang is a talented and gifted man. He is also a Godly man and is doing wonderful and miraculous things in the medical community and right here in Nashville! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jul 31, 2015

Dr. Ming Wang is a God given! He is so compassionate about his work and his patients!. I had 3D forever young lasik surgery on my left eye on Tues, July 28 and on my right eye, Thurs. July 30, 2015, Dr. Wang is very thorough about explaining the procedure and he never uses a blade! The procedure was not painful..no headaches, no problems! His staff at his ofc and surgery center are awesome. As they prepare you for your surgery they talk to you and make sure you are comfortabl...e. Dr. Wang is so humble..he bows down and laid his hand on my head and prays to God for a safe and successful surgery! wow..what a blessing! Within 21 hrs after the surgery my eye was clear, no hazy, cloudy vision, no halos..I could see clear! What an exciting moment! I could even text and read without my glasses! My surgery on Thurs. went great. I am up this morning getting ready to go for my follow up visit and I am sitting her typing this with NO GLASSES ON! woo hoo!!! I haven't done that in over 3 yrs!.I just can't say enough about Dr. Ming Wang..I have research for several years and several people said he was the best...and HE IS!! I thank God for sending me to him!!! May God bless you! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 22, 2015

Dr. Ming Wang is the best of the best! He really cares about his patients and it shows through his actions. He completely put me at ease during my 3D LASIK eye surgery (the only 3D LASIK eye surgery available… More in Tennessee) by talking me through every single step of the procedure. He even called me at home to check on me the evening after my 3D LASIK eye surgery during the day. I highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang to anyone seeking corrective eye surgery because of his caring manner and excellent surgical skills. I am so thankful to have had Dr. Ming Wang perform my 3D LASIK eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 22, 2015

Dr. Ming Wang is the best of the best! He really cares about his patients and it shows through his actions. He completely put me at ease during my 3D LASIK eye surgery (the only 3D LASIK eye surgery available in Tennessee) by talking me through every single step of the procedure. He even called me at home to check on me the evening after my 3D LASIK eye surgery during the day. I highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang to anyone seeking corrective eye surgery because of his caring manner and excellent surgical skills. I am so thankful to have had Dr. Ming Wang perform my 3D LASIK eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.B.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jun 22, 2015

Dr. Ming Wang is the best of the best! He really cares about his patients and it shows through his actions. He completely put me at ease during my 3D LASIK eye surgery (the only 3D LASIK eye surgery available in Tennessee) by talking me through every single step of the procedure. He even called me at home to check on me the evening after my 3D LASIK eye surgery during the day. I highly recommend Dr. Ming Wang to anyone seeking corrective eye surgery because of his caring manner and excellent surgical skills. I am so thankful to have had Dr. Ming Wang perform my 3D LASIK eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.F.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 11, 2015

Less than thirteen hrs ago I underwent 3D Lasik with the only center in TN to do the procedure. Words can't express my joy and gratitude with not only the results but the entire staff and especially Dr. Wang himself. Such a compassionate man. As I was being prepped for surgery the man came to my table and as I lay there he put his hand to my head and bowed and prayed for and with me to God for a safe and successful procedure. It was all I could do to not cry I was so moved ...and impressed. Dr. Wang also does normal eye care and many other services including cataract involving the 100% blade free all laser surgery. I recommend all my friends and family to see him if you have any questions or have thought about getting any corrective work done. The new 3d offers even great astigmatism correction. I have had terrible vision most of my life, but today I can already see and this is the first day yet it matches if not exceeds my everyday vision with glasses or contacts. I'm ecstatic and praising the glory of God for all he does, gives me, and the way he takes care of me. Today it was by bringing me through Dr. Wangs door. If you want to experience the best Dr I've ever met call Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Z.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 24, 2015

So excited after my 3DLasik surgery w Dr. Wang. The best!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 06, 2014

You could easily think I'm being biased due to the fact that I am an employee at WVI, but the truth is....The entire staff (I'm speaking as a patient) is INCREDIBLE! I already knew I was in good hands before having my 3D Bladeless LASIK procedure because I have seen Dr. Wang's success rate first hand by working there for the past year. I can't begin to explain how happy I am with the outcome! My contacts were giving me horrible infections and my glasses were causing headaches and now, I don't have to worry about either anymore! In conclusion, as an employee and now as a very happy patient....I highly recommend y'all come and SEE us at WVI! :) More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.E.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Oct 12, 2014

Brilliant Doctor, Excellent staff, Highly quality service... Why else would you consider going anywhere else for Lasik? To say I am pleased is an understatement, Dr. Wang is just the best doctor you are going to find to work on your eyes. I am very pleased with results from my 3D Lasik procedure and highly recommend him to every and anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 02, 2014

Just had 3D LASIK eye surgery yesterday and I am already very pleased. I was practically blind without my glasses and now I'm seeing better than ever. Dr. Ming Wang is the absolute best. I knew without a doubt he was the surgeon for me based on his track record and faith in God. He even prayed over me before he began surgery. He's not only a world class doctor, but a wonderful man. I couldn't be happier with my decision to trust my eyes to Wang Vision Institute!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Aug 02, 2014

Just had 3D LASIK eye surgery yesterday and I am already very pleased. I was practically blind without my glasses and now I'm seeing better than ever. Dr. Ming Wang is the absolute best. I knew without a doubt… More he was the surgeon for me based on his track record and faith in God. He even prayed over me before he began surgery. He's not only a world class doctor, but a wonderful man. I couldn't be happier with my decision to trust my eyes to Wang Vision Institute!! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.