Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday November 2nd @ 7 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Optometrist Marianne Johnson, O.D.

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Drs. Ming Wang and Josh Frenkel, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter21 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from K.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 16, 2021

I can not say enough good things about my experience at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville.  I can not believe I waited so long to get my vision corrected.  I had the LASIK procedure performed on both of my eyes.  I was evaluated, considered a candidate, and had the procedure done all in the same afternoon  I was in and out in a few hour.  It was completely pain free and the staff was extremely friendly and comforting.  When I woke up the next morning, the results were immediate!  I could see as if I was wearing my glasses, and my vision has only improved since then.  My follow up visits have been just as easy and I love that I no longer need to wear my glasses!  Thank you to all the staff and doctors at Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2021

Dr. Wang and his staff were amazing. They have made me feel very comfortable and important every time I’ve been there. I came in for a consultation and was told that LASIK wouldn’t completely give me all my vision back, because my eyes were so bad. I decided to do it anyway and prayed that God would give me back my full vision. Dr. Wang did my surgery and he also prayed with me before he performed the surgery which really impressed me and made me feel more comfortable during the surgery. After my surgery, I showed up for my follow-up appointment, when they did my vision test I was able to read 20/20 with no help!! I walked out of the office in tears that day, so humbled that God answered my prayers and used a great surgeon to do it.I have worn glasses since I was eight and every year they have had to make my prescription stronger, when I went in my eyes were so bad could only see things that were right in front of my face (my prescription was -7.25) now I’m thankful to be able to say I can see 20/20 with no help. Thank you so much!!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 29, 2021

I had eye surgery and the staff at Dr Wang’s was awesome. They are caring and they take good care of you during the hole process. More

3.0
DAPI
Review from L.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 18, 2021

I went in today for my consultation. I am very happy with how thorough the tests were and the female doctor I saw (I forgot her name) was extremely patient, kind, and knowledgeable. My only concern/issue is with the price. They charge almost double. To get the price down I must attend a Zoom seminar and pressure family and friends to attend as well. (The more attendees you get, the more of a discount you get.) I feel like I’m in elementary school trying to awkwardly pressure family and neighbors to sponsor me for a walk-a-thon. And if I’m not selected to win the 50% off prize, I won’t be able to afford the surgery. I will have to start the process all over with another doctor. I wish I would have known the prices on the front end. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 19, 2020

The best thing I ever done is I got lasik and dr frenkel did mine he did really good and was really nice the Procedure doesn’t take long less than 30 minutes in a week my eyes are back to 20/20 after 15 years of wearing glasses and contacts .. They have the best price and number 1 in Tennessee for lasik . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 20, 2020

One year ago this month my beautiful wife Denisse had Dr Wang do her 3D LAZIK surgery and she’s doing amazing! She’s completely recovered. As I shared last year, I originally had my 3D Forever Young surgery scheduled for early Spring 2020 but then the pandemic hit! We assumed it would pass quickly so we postponed but then realized it’s just a near term part of our lives. In early September 2020, we worked with Dr. Ming Wang staff to schedule my 3D Forever Young surgery for mid September 2020! I’m now 5 weeks post surgery and have never felt or seen better! I went into the surgery assuming I would see better but never envisioned that I would have PERFECT vision! I had the surgery on a Thursday and personally drove the 2 hours home the very next day! I’ve had no complications and my vision is amazing! I was initially concerned as I suffered from "dry eye" most of my adult life (my dear departed mother also suffered from it as well). But Dr. Ming Wang staff recommend a procedure called LipiFlow and it worked! I haven’t experienced dry eye period since that procedure! Strongly recommend it. Dr. Joshua Frenkel actually performed my 3D Forever Young procedure and was amazing. Dr. Frenkel and his very competent staff were super professional, informative and warm. Dr. Frenkel was super engaged from the very second I was prepped for surgery. He personally explained everything that would happen and that I might experience. I was not fearful at all, neither pre or post surgery, as everything happened as explained. I had no pain, period! I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute and the 3D Forever Young ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 07, 2020

I noticed that my vision was not as clear as it use to be, so my optometrist (from another vision center) told me it was time to have cataract surgery. I was a little nervous because I had never seen an ophthalmologist at that center. About a month earlier, I had taken my sister, who is legally blind, to Wang vision Institute hoping that her vision would be improved. Her doctor was Dr. Joshua Frenkel, who specializes in cataract and glaucoma surgery; all of which she had.  I was so pleased with the treatment she received and the compassion the whole staff showed us that I wanted Dr. Frenkel to remove my cataracts and treat my glaucoma. My surgery was June of this year and I cannot be more pleased. My vision is so crisp and clear that I see the world so differently now. My pressure is 10 in both eyes as opposed to being in the high teens and low twenties. Thank you Drs. Frenkel and Johnson for taking such good care of my sister and me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 01, 2020

I am about 4 weeks post op for the SMILE procedure. I had horrible vision prior to the procedure. Eventhough I was very nervous before the procedure, i felt NO pain during or after the procedure. The staff was really good and encouraged me during the entire operation (which is very helpful) I got SMILE done Friday morning and worked (on a computer) on Sunday. I would recommend giving yourself 2 full days to recover but you can return to pretty much normal day to day after 24 hrs of resting your eyes (closing them) immediately after. Glad I was able to shake the nerves enough to do it. Definitely recommend.Dr. Frenkel did a great job!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 18, 2020

I took my Mom for exam in January.  She has Fuch's Dystrophy and needed cataract surgery.  Had cataract surgery in March.  So far everything is great.  After meeting Dr. Wang and staff, I knew she was in good hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2020

It's been two weeks since my consultation and surgery (had them both on the same day) and I have been as happy as I can be with the whole experience and results so far. I had been to two seminars previously which were extremely informative and really answered all the questions I had about the surgeries -- the discount you get is also a super great plus. I was given very detailed instructions on what to expect with the surgery, how to prep for it and what the post-op care would look like about a month prior. The consultation and evaluation process was very detailed, every employee I encountered was so nice and really accommodating every step of the way. You will definitely be there for some hours if you're doing your eval and surgery the same day so be prepared for that. Otherwise, the whole process was easy - I really felt they took their time and was hardly nervous for the actual surgery itself when it finally came time to do it. Dr. Wang was very comforting, even explaining what he was doing every step of the surgery. My eyesight was so bad so they told me beforehand that they wouldn't be able to get me to 20/20, which is fine because I don't think I've ever really seen 20/20 even with my contacts/glasses. Dr. Wang called me personally that same evening to make sure I was doing well and to see if I had any questions. I was back to work the next day. I had my follow up 3 days after surgery where I could read 20/25 without any help of contacts or glasses! I'm seeing just as well now as I was with contacts - my night blindness has improved tremendously (huge plus)! I've had no issues with dry eye or any recovery problems. Best decision I've ever made, hands down and I'm so grateful to have had such a seamless, pain-free experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.P.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 10, 2020

It’s been two weeks since my consultation and surgery (had them both on the same day) and I have been as happy as I can be with the whole experience and results so far. I had been to two seminars previously which were extremely informative and really answered all the questions I had about the surgeries -- the discount you get is also a super great plus. I was given very detailed instructions on what to expect with the surgery, how to prep for it and what the post-op care would look like about a month prior. The consultation and evaluation process was very detailed, every employee I encountered was so nice and really accommodating every step of the way. You will definitely be there for some hours if you’re doing your eval and surgery the same day so be prepared for that. Otherwise, the whole process was easy - I really felt they took their time and was hardly nervous for the actual surgery itself when it finally came time to do it. Dr. Wang was very comforting, even explaining what he was doing every step of the surgery. My eyesight was so bad so they told me beforehand that they wouldn’t be able to get me to 20/20, which is fine because I don’t think I’ve ever really seen 20/20 even with my contacts/glasses. Dr. Wang called me personally that same evening to make sure I was doing well and to see if I had any questions. I was back to work the next day. I had my follow up 3 days after surgery where I could read 20/25 without any help of contacts or glasses! I’m seeing just as well now as I was with contacts - my night blindness has improved tremendously (huge plus)! I’ve had no issues with dry eye or any recovery problems. Best decision I’ve ever made, hands down and I’m so grateful to have had such a seamless, pain-free experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 03, 2019

Looking for a solution to your vision problems?  Wang Eye Institute is the answer!  I have been attached to my readers so badly that I couldn't read a text, see a menu, or even see pictures as my family would send them to me.   Without readers I couldn't function. I visited Wang Eye Institute and after surgery, I can say, "Goodbye readers!!!!" Immediately after surgery, my vision was improved!  No more missing my sweet family pictures or not being able to see the food on my plate at dinner with my husband. The entire staff was kind and explained everything I needed to know.   From the receptionist to the techs that did my evaluations, to Dr. Wang, my experience has been remarkable. Such an answer to my vision problems! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 09, 2019

I have worn contacts/glasses for over 18 years. Friday, Dr. Wang performed 3D SMILE on me and now I never have to wear glasses or contacts again! The entire staff made me feel at ease and took such good care of me. Dr. Wang prayed before the procedure and verbally walked me through every step. My vision was so poor before this surgery that I could be sitting next to someone without glasses and not be able to see their facial features. This process is miraculous. I am still so overwhelmed with emotion and have been reflecting on scripture relating to blind eyes being opened in such a different light. Thank you Dr. Wang and the entire staff for changing my life through the incredible gifts you have been given.  I highly recommend Wang Vision to anyone eligible for corrective eye surgery. I wish I had done this years ago. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2018

I had LASIK surgery with Dr Wang on July 23,2001. Prior to this procedure I was very near sighted and had worn glasses since 2nd grade. For a couple of years prior to this I had started wearing bifocal glasses to read and work on the computer. I was so near sighted that when I traveled and stayed in a hotel I had to careful when I took my glasses off at night because I could not find them in the morning by sight but found them by feeling around on the night stand. Now 17 years later I still do not need glasses for distance viewing but have started wearing cheaters for reading. I can not say enough good things about Dr Wang and how he has changed my life. I have loved living a glasses free life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 01, 2017

Dr Wang preformed the 3D forever young lens lasik surgery on my right Next is the left. He and his staff were excellent in his proceduresHe was very informative in ever aspect of his sugary. I highly recommend Dr Wang and his surgical staff .. they were very Friendly and showed much competition toMy every need God bless Dr Wang.. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2016

I had a very good experience getting LASIK done at Wang's office.  Complete time I spend for the eval and process was 3 hours, 15 min.  Very nice people. Update:  I got an enhancement to get the last 5% of my left eye perfect.  Staff was very happy to work with the year warranty I had, no hassle at all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2016

I had a very good experience getting LASIK done at Wang’s office.  Complete time I spend for the eval and process was 3 hours, 15 min.  Very nice people.Update:  I got an enhancement to get the last 5% of my left eye perfect.  Staff was very happy to work with the year warranty I had, no hassle at all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 07, 2015

It was a good, efficient experience. *****  just FYI:  this medical procedure lasts a total of about 7 years.  It's not a permanent fix. From the time you sign in, to the time you finally leave, everything is pretty top notch and aggressive sales. I went through several tests and about 3-4 different people that moved me through the system of testing, evaluating and pricing. Everyone was pleasant, first class, professional, and they know their jobs. Each one had a job to move you through the process of getting tested and getting signed up for surgery. I don't move that fast. I am thrifty.  I like to read, research, compare... After my exam, I requested copies of all my test results. I got a prescription for eyeglasses and I got copies of all the tests they took. I paid for them. They are mine to do what I want. You see the commercials, you read about people who get eye surgery and you wonder if you are a candidate. They will take all kinds of tests and then give you the results. It's pricy, and it's thorough. From here, you decide whether you want to continue wearing glasses, get the eye surgery, or.. check out Lasik in Costa Rica. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from F.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 07, 2015

It was a good, efficient experience.*****  just FYI:  this medical procedure lasts a total of about 7 years.  It’s not a permanent fix.From the time you sign in, to the time you finally leave, everything is pretty top notch and aggressive sales.I went through several tests and about 3-4 different people that moved me through the system of testing, evaluating and pricing.Everyone was pleasant, first class, professional, and they know their jobs. Each one had a job to move you through the process of getting tested and getting signed up for surgery.I don’t move that fast. I am thrifty.  I like to read, research, compare...After my exam, I requested copies of all my test results.I got a prescription for eyeglasses and I got copies of all the tests they took.I paid for them. They are mine to do what I want.You see the commercials, you read about people who get eye surgery and you wonder if you are a candidate.They will take all kinds of tests and then give you the results.It’s pricy, and it’s thorough.From here, you decide whether you want to continue wearing glasses, get the eye surgery,or.. check out Lasik in Costa Rica. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 20, 2015

Dr. Wang and his entire staff are professional, kind and informative. They went out of their way to reassure me, answer my questions and make me feel relaxed and comfortable. When I learned that I have steep corneas that would require PRK instead of Lasik I was disappointed and a bit panicked. PRK sounded more painful and would require a longer recovery time, neither of which I’d planned for. Erika, my coordinator, took the initiative to speak to Dr. Wang and have him review my test results. Dr. Wang determined that my corneas were only slightly steep and that I could indeed have 3D Lasik. I had the procedure in the late afternoon and was resting comfortably last night. I woke up this morning and could read the bedside clock. I am typing this without glasses which was IMPOSSIBLE this time yesterday. I feel like the world is much bigger today and I think Dr. Wang and his team. I’m so glad I made the decision to use Wang Vision for my corrective surgery and will refer friends and family as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 20, 2015

Dr. Wang and his entire staff are professional, kind and informative. They went out of their way to reassure me, answer my questions and make me feel relaxed and comfortable. When I learned that I have steep corneas that would require PRK instead of Lasik I was disappointed and a bit panicked. PRK sounded more painful and would require a longer recovery time, neither of which I'd planned for. Erika, my coordinator, took the initiative to speak to Dr. Wang and have him review my test results. Dr. Wang determined that my corneas were only slightly steep and that I could indeed have 3D Lasik. I had the procedure in the late afternoon and was resting comfortably last night. I woke up this morning and could read the bedside clock. I am typing this without glasses which was IMPOSSIBLE this time yesterday. I feel like the world is much bigger today and I think Dr. Wang and his team. I'm so glad I made the decision to use Wang Vision for my corrective surgery and will refer friends and family as well. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.