Free Educational Seminar Tuesday, 04/20/2021 at 7pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Ophthalmology Specialist Josh Frenkel, M.D., MPH

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Drs. Ming Wang and Josh Frenkel, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter13 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2021

I had a wonderful experience this week at Wang Vision Institute. After wearing glasses and contacts for 15 years, I woke up Thursday morning and did not need either. My boyfriend and I both received 3D SMILE Wednesday evening and by Thursday we were already seeing better than 20/20! Our eyes are still healing and adjusting but the results are unbelievable. Shutout to the staff for being so kind. Thank you Dr. Frenkel for giving us the gift of sight! We are so grateful! If you are searching for corrective surgery options, give them a call! You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 22, 2021

I was very nervous about LASIK.  The staff were very helpful and walked me through the process.  Dr. Frenkel was friendly and proficient.  The surgery was quick and painless (a little uncomfortable).  All in all, very happy that I chose them for my surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2020

From start to finish, the staff and doctors helped with my Lasik surgery. Able to see 20/20 the very next day. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel for doing such a great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 19, 2020

The best thing I ever done is I got lasik and dr frenkel did mine he did really good and was really nice the Procedure doesn’t take long less than 30 minutes in a week my eyes are back to 20/20 after 15 years of wearing glasses and contacts .. They have the best price and number 1 in Tennessee for lasik . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 20, 2020

One year ago this month my beautiful wife Denisse had Dr Wang do her 3D LAZIK surgery and she’s doing amazing! She’s completely recovered. As I shared last year, I originally had my 3D Forever Young surgery scheduled for early Spring 2020 but then the pandemic hit! We assumed it would pass quickly so we postponed but then realized it’s just a near term part of our lives. In early September 2020, we worked with Dr. Ming Wang staff to schedule my 3D Forever Young surgery for mid September 2020! I’m now 5 weeks post surgery and have never felt or seen better! I went into the surgery assuming I would see better but never envisioned that I would have PERFECT vision! I had the surgery on a Thursday and personally drove the 2 hours home the very next day! I’ve had no complications and my vision is amazing! I was initially concerned as I suffered from "dry eye" most of my adult life (my dear departed mother also suffered from it as well). But Dr. Ming Wang staff recommend a procedure called LipiFlow and it worked! I haven’t experienced dry eye period since that procedure! Strongly recommend it. Dr. Joshua Frenkel actually performed my 3D Forever Young procedure and was amazing. Dr. Frenkel and his very competent staff were super professional, informative and warm. Dr. Frenkel was super engaged from the very second I was prepped for surgery. He personally explained everything that would happen and that I might experience. I was not fearful at all, neither pre or post surgery, as everything happened as explained. I had no pain, period! I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute and the 3D Forever Young ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 16, 2020

I just left my follow up appointment after cataract surgery at Wang Vision and I am already encouraging family members with early cataract problems to follow my lead.  I got the new Vivity lens and less than 24 hours after surgery my vision is already 20/25 and still improving.  Dr. Frenkel completed my surgery and he is a very confidence inspiring young doctor. He and Dr. Wang are also supported by an excellent staff.  The entire process instilled great confidence in me and the results have so far been spectacular.  Don’t be afraid and don’t wait unless it is to save up for the new lens...google Vivity lens--Wang Vision is the only surgeon with this lens available right now and it will likely revolutionize cataract surgery in the coming years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 07, 2020

I noticed that my vision was not as clear as it use to be, so my optometrist (from another vision center) told me it was time to have cataract surgery. I was a little nervous because I had never seen an ophthalmologist at that center. About a month earlier, I had taken my sister, who is legally blind, to Wang vision Institute hoping that her vision would be improved. Her doctor was Dr. Joshua Frenkel, who specializes in cataract and glaucoma surgery; all of which she had.  I was so pleased with the treatment she received and the compassion the whole staff showed us that I wanted Dr. Frenkel to remove my cataracts and treat my glaucoma. My surgery was June of this year and I cannot be more pleased. My vision is so crisp and clear that I see the world so differently now. My pressure is 10 in both eyes as opposed to being in the high teens and low twenties. Thank you Drs. Frenkel and Johnson for taking such good care of my sister and me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 08, 2020

Wang Vision, all of the staff, Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Zimmerman made my Lasik experience such an easy and wonderful one. They made sure I was aware of every step of the process and made me feel comfortable before, during, and after the procedure. They could not have been more friendly or conversational with me which made the process all the more enjoyable and easy. The results of the Lasik are incredible, I woke up the next day and could read the posters in my room and see the leaves outside and I cried instantly, life changing. Thank you Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 01, 2020

I am about 4 weeks post op for the SMILE procedure. I had horrible vision prior to the procedure. Eventhough I was very nervous before the procedure, i felt NO pain during or after the procedure. The staff was really good and encouraged me during the entire operation (which is very helpful) I got SMILE done Friday morning and worked (on a computer) on Sunday. I would recommend giving yourself 2 full days to recover but you can return to pretty much normal day to day after 24 hrs of resting your eyes (closing them) immediately after. Glad I was able to shake the nerves enough to do it. Definitely recommend.Dr. Frenkel did a great job!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 18, 2020

I had small incision lasik in October 2019 to correct astigmatism and near sidedness in both of my eyes. I am beyond satisfied with the services I received. I see way better than I ever did with contacts or glasses. Everyone I have seen at Wang Vision Institute have been so nice and personable. They were amazing at easing the anxiety I experienced when it was time for the procedure and even took a video on my phone because I asked for one! Dr. Frenkel did a great job and I have not regretted having this done with him by any means! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2020

I had the greatest experience at Wang Vision Institute. I have been wearing glasses since I was in 4th grade and have always looked forward to the day I wouldn't have to wear contacts or glasses again. Wang vision made the entire experience  "breezy" to say the least beginning with booking my appointment. The wait time was verY minimal once at the office and it was Such an efficient visit. During the consultation, I learned I was a candidate for Lasik and Smile. I chose Smile and Dr. Frenkel performed my procedure. Everything went smoothly and better than I ever expected. Recovery has been easy as well. Dr Frenkel called me around 7 hourS after my procedure to check in and ask any questions. All in all, I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute as well as 3D Smile!! You'll be in great hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2020

I had the greatest experience at Wang Vision Institute. I have been wearing glasses since I was in 4th grade and have always looked forward to the day I wouldn’t have to wear contacts or glasses again. Wang vision made the entire experience  "breezy" to say the least beginning with booking my appointment. The wait time was verY minimal once at the office and it was Such an efficient visit. During the consultation, I learned I was a candidate for Lasik and Smile. I chose Smile and Dr. Frenkel performed my procedure. Everything went smoothly and better than I ever expected. Recovery has been easy as well. Dr Frenkel called me around 7 hourS after my procedure to check in and ask any questions. All in all, I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute as well as 3D Smile!! You’ll be in great hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2019

A few years ago, I wasn't sure if I was a candidate for lasik and sent an email with my concerns.  Dr. Wang himself replied to my email.  I was impressed.  At the visit, Dr. Wang was very reassuring.  At the surgery, Dr. Wang prayed before my surgery which greatly reassured me more.  He also called personally that night to check on me. Then, I needed cataract surgery.  So 2 weeks ago, I had it done by Dr. Frenkel.  I had the same confidence in Dr. Frenkel as I did with Dr. Wang. Again, I was impressed by Wang Vision.    Everyone at the office was again very friendly and very efficient.  At the surgery center, everyone was very friendly and very caring, especially when I was very nervous about the procedure.  That night, Dr. Frenkel called checking on me and the surgery center called the next day. Be prepared, there is a LOT of wait time at the office visits and the procedures are very expensive. They do accept Care Credit which makes it very nice.  I do not like paying a lot, but for my eyes I want the best.   I believe that Wang Vision is the best for me. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.