Free Educational Seminar Tuesday, 04/20/2021 at 7pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Ophthalmology Specialist Josh Frenkel, M.D., MPH

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Drs. Ming Wang and Josh Frenkel, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter78 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 02, 2021

If you are interested in corrective eye surgery, look no further than Wang Vision Institute. From the initial consultation to the follow-up, they are everything they promised to be. The entire team create a welcoming yet professional atmosphere that extends beyond the office and the first days of post-op. You can trust that your vision is their top priority. My case was a doozy, yet I never felt that it was more than they could handle. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.M.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 01, 2021

I could not be happier with the LASIK procedure. Within 24 hours I had 20/20 vision and it continues to get better. There was no pain or irritation. It was very quick and simple as a patient. The staff was fantastic and Dr. Zimmerman and Frankel were so personable. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Apr 01, 2021

Dr.Frenkel preformed cataract surgery for me with excellent results. From the receptionist thru out the staff I was relieved to encounter punctual,polite, and interested people. I was so nervous and knew nothing about cataract surgery. Dr.Johnson was the optometrist I saw . Was so polite to take the time to answer all my questions and ease my concerns. The Eye Surgery Center .... oh my ...... I was so nervous! They were so calming and on their game.... the procedure was nothing like I was worried about . Looking forward to seeing clearer and not thru glasses. Thank you Wangs Vision . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 23, 2021

Dr. Frenkel changed my life forever. He was so comforting during my procedure. I went in very anxious and nervous. But Dr. Frenkel told me that I was in good hands and he couldn’t have been more right. Getting Lasik was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 22, 2021

I can’t thank Dr. Frenkel enough for my amazing experience at Wang Vision. All of the staff members were extremely nice and helpful. They go through all of your options in detail, and allow time for you to ask any and all questions you may have. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 19, 2021

Dr. Frenkel was amazing! One day after surgery I had 20/20 vision! Something I haven’t had in many many years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 19, 2021

I couldn’t be happier with my treatment at Wang Vision! The entire staff is so friendly and knowledgeable. Dr. Frenkel and James made me feel totally at ease when getting my procedure done. If you are wanting to get LASIK, Wang Vision is definitely the place to go! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 17, 2021

I just want to give Wang Vision and Dr. Frenkel a big thank you for taking care of me. I had Lasik March 5th so I'm 11 days out from surgery, and I'm happy to say that everything has gone beyond what I expected everyone was so nice, and professional I recommend Wang Vision for anyone wanting to have Lasik eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 16, 2021

I had SMILE done with Dr Frenkel less than a week ago and I’m already seeing better than 20/20. I highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.O.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 16, 2021

I recommend Wang Vision to everyone! I had SMILE done less than a week ago with Dr Frenkel and I’m already seeing better than 20/20. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 14, 2021

I had a wonderful experience this week at Wang Vision Institute. After wearing glasses and contacts for 15 years, I woke up Thursday morning and did not need either. I received 3D SMILE Wednesday evening and by Thursday I was already seeing better than 20/20! My eyes are still healing and adjusting but the results are unbelievable. Shutout to the staff for being so kind. Thank you Dr. Frenkel for giving me the gift of sight! I am so grateful! If you are searching for corrective surgery options, give them a call! You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 13, 2021

I had a wonderful experience this week at Wang Vision Institute. After wearing glasses and contacts for 15 years, I woke up Thursday morning and did not need either. My boyfriend and I both received 3D SMILE Wednesday evening and by Thursday we were already seeing better than 20/20! Our eyes are still healing and adjusting but the results are unbelievable. Shutout to the staff for being so kind. Thank you Dr. Frenkel for giving us the gift of sight! We are so grateful! If you are searching for corrective surgery options, give them a call! You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.H.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 13, 2021

I had a wonderful experience this week at Wang Vision Institute. After wearing glasses and contacts for 15 years, I woke up Thursday morning and did not need either. My boyfriend and I both received 3D SMILE Wednesday evening and by Thursday we were already seeing better than 20/20! Our eyes are still healing and adjusting but the results are unbelievable. Shutout to the staff for being so kind. Thank you Dr. Frenkel for giving us the gift of sight! We are so grateful! If you are searching for corrective surgery options, give them a call! You will not regret it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 12, 2021

Dr. Frenkel was so very patient with me and talked me through step by step, keeping me calm throughout my 3D Smile Procedure, which I had exactly 1 week ago. My results...20/15 Vision Ya'll!!!! I am amazed I went through with it and so grateful for him and his staff as they gave me the courage I needed to do something I've wanted done for years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Mar 12, 2021

If you're considering Lasiks, but scared to take the plunge...go see the doctors at Wang Vision. Dr. Frenkel and all his staff were so patient with me and helped me make the BEST decision ever. I am one week in from having the 3D Smile procedure and I am at 20/15 Vision...you can't even see my incisions anymore and I have very little discomfort. Thank you team for making me feel safe and calm throughout this experience! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 12, 2021

From the consult to the surgery to the follow-up appointments, everything was solid. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 24, 2021

I can't thank Dr. Frenkel and his staff more!  I was always told I would be wearing contacts for life due to the extreme prescription I had.  Two days post op I ad 20/20 vision.  Doc is personable, professional, and extremely competent.  Dr. Zimmerman, James, and the entire team were fantastic!  Can't recommend them enough! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.G.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 21, 2021

The Wang Vision Institute was so great from start to finish! From my consult to my LASIK procedure, the entire staff were helpful and caring. They made me feel like I was the only patient that mattered while there. If you are trying to find a surgeon for your corrective vision procedure, I definitely recommend Dr. Frenkel or Wang. Options are given to you same day regarding what you are a good candidate for, whether it be LASIK or the SMILE procedure. I am very satisfied with my vision results after just having done LASIK two days ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.R.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Feb 07, 2021

Dr Frenkel and staff were amazing!! I have always been afraid of the process and never knew what to expect. They talked me through the entire process and kept me calm. I highly recommend in spending the money to get it done right! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 29, 2021

Dr. Frenkel is a great doct and I would recommend The Wand institute to anyone the need eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 22, 2021

I waited 20 years for LASIK. I was nervous about the surgery and process. Finally last December, I decided to go for it. I am so happy I did! The team as Wang Vision Institute were professional, courteous and caring. They used checklists throughout the procedure which reassured me all was well. I was impressed at how we walked through the process and everything went according to plan. After one month, I'm seeing great and so happy I decided to use Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 22, 2021

I was very nervous about LASIK.  The staff were very helpful and walked me through the process.  Dr. Frenkel was friendly and proficient.  The surgery was quick and painless (a little uncomfortable).  All in all, very happy that I chose them for my surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 21, 2021

I can recommend Wang Vision Institute without reservation, having had both eyes treated for cataracts. Dr. Josh Frankel performed the surgery on both eyes. He had the task of correcting a problem from a previous cataract surgery on my right eye, and successfully brought it to 20/20 or a little better, and then did the left eye just recently, and it is now 20/20 or a little better too. All of the staff at Wang Vision are caring and courteous people who take excellent care of their patients. Five star treatment all the way! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 15, 2021

Great doctor. Awesome staff. 10/10 overall. I know i made the best choice for my lasik procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 15, 2021

Great doctor. Awesome staff. 10/10 overall. I definitely chose the best place for my lasik procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 11, 2021

My experience at Wang Vision demonstrated to me that all their staff (from reception to the surgeons) all had a passion for what they did and genuinely cared about the quality of patient care provided. The SMILE 3D procedure I had was executed with precision and was a game changer for me. Thanks to the whole team for taking care of me! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 06, 2021

Dr. Frenkel was outstanding throughout the entire process. I couldn't be happier with the results.6 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Y.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 29, 2020

From start to finish, the staff and doctors helped with my Lasik surgery. Able to see 20/20 the very next day. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel for doing such a great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Y.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 29, 2020

From start to finish, the staff and doctors helped with my Lasik surgery. Able to see 20/20 the very next day. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel for doing such a great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.Y.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 29, 2020

From start to finish, the staff and doctors helped with my Lasik surgery. Able to see 20/20 the very next day. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel for doing such a great job. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 22, 2020

Dr Frenkel was amazing! I can see without glasses! I had RK in the 90s and Dr Frenkel did my cataract surgery. It was tricky and I can see!! Thank you Dr Frenkel! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.J.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 21, 2020

I can see!! I had cataract surgery in October and Dr Frenkel was wonderful. Everyone in the office treats you like you are important to them. I’m on Medicare and I had RK back in the 90s so that made my surgery a little tricky. I am now 20/20 and I don’t need glasses at all. Everything is bright and colorful. Thank you Dr Frenkel and Wang Vision Institute! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.N.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 06, 2020

An amazing team of professionals. Very thorough in all aspects of eye care. Several years ago I had Lasix surgery Dr. Wang performed. Most happy with that for ten years, then glasses for a few years monitored by the team. When it was time for cataract surgery I did not hesitate to upgrade to the Forever Lens surgery performed by Dr.Frenkel. Again most pleased with the results. It appears I will not even need readers. The anxiety over Covid was put to rest as each member of the team used caution and took great care to provide a safe environment. I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute. Nan Parrish More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 01, 2020

I got lasik eye surgery yesterday and am already seeing huge improvements in my vision. Dr. Frenkel was so kind and took the time to answer all my questions throughout the procedure. I would recommend him to anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 24, 2020

I am 3 days post SMILE procedure by Dr. Frenkel and could not be more satisfied with my results thus far! Dr. Frenkel and his staff were so kind, encouraging, and verbally walked me through each step during my procedure so I knew exactly what I would feel regarding pressure. During my follow up today, Dr. Frenkel took the time to make sure any questions or concerns were answered and addressed in full. He truly has a passion for his patients and it shows in his work. Thank you Dr. Frenkel!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.C.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 24, 2020

5 days ago I had an amazing procedure done to my eyes. It's the latest and greatest for correcting nearsightedness called SMILE. Big thanks from Miranda Smith to Dr. Zimmerman and Dr. Frenkel!!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Nov 23, 2020

To start, the front desk staff welcome you with such a warm welcome each time! Dr. Frenkel performed my SMILE procedure. He and his staff were so encouraging throughout the procedure and made me feel completely comfortable and confident after. I feel like Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Johnson are truly passionate about their patients progress and providing 5 star care at baseline. I could not have asked for better results! Thank you Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 20, 2020

The best thing I ever done is I got lasik and dr frenkel did mine he did really good and was really nice the Procedure doesn’t take long less than 30 minutes in a week my eyes are back to 20/20 after 15 years of wearing glasses and contacts .. They have the best price and number 1 in Tennessee for lasik . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 19, 2020

The best thing I ever done is I got lasik and dr frenkel did mine he did really good and was really nice the Procedure doesn’t take long less than 30 minutes in a week my eyes are back to 20/20 after 15 years of wearing glasses and contacts .. They have the best price and number 1 in Tennessee for lasik . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 19, 2020

The best thing I ever done is I got lasik and dr frenkel did mine he did really good and was really nice the Procedure doesn’t take long less than 30 minutes in a week my eyes are back to 20/20 after 15 years of wearing glasses and contacts .. They have the best price and number 1 in Tennessee for lasik . More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 04, 2020

I had an outstanding experience at Wang Vision Institute. Dr Frenkel and the other staff members are very knowledgeable, personable, and professional! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 20, 2020

One year ago this month my beautiful wife Denisse had Dr Wang do her 3D LAZIK surgery and she's doing amazing! She's completely recovered. As I shared last year, I originally had my 3D Forever Young surgery scheduled for early Spring 2020 but then the pandemic hit! We assumed it would pass quickly so we postponed but then realized it's just a near term part of our lives. In early September 2020, we worked with Dr. Ming Wang staff to schedule my 3D Forever Young surgery for mid September 2020! I'm now 5 weeks post surgery and have never felt or seen better! I went into the surgery assuming I would see better but never envisioned that I would have PERFECT vision! I had the surgery on a Thursday and personally drove the 2 hours home the very next day! I've had no complications and my vision is amazing! I was initially concerned as I suffered from "dry eye" most of my adult life (my dear departed mother also suffered from it as well). But Dr. Ming Wang staff recommend a procedure called LipiFlow and it worked! I haven't experienced dry eye period since that procedure! Strongly recommend it. Dr. Joshua Frenkel actually performed my 3D Forever Young procedure and was amazing. Dr. Frenkel and his very competent staff were super professional, informative and warm. Dr. Frenkel was super engaged from the very second I was prepped for surgery. He personally explained everything that would happen and that I might experience. I was not fearful at all, neither pre or post surgery, as everything happened as explained. I had no pain, period! I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute and the 3D Forever Young ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 20, 2020

One year ago this month my beautiful wife Denisse had Dr Wang do her 3D LAZIK surgery and she’s doing amazing! She’s completely recovered. As I shared last year, I originally had my 3D Forever Young surgery scheduled for early Spring 2020 but then the pandemic hit! We assumed it would pass quickly so we postponed but then realized it’s just a near term part of our lives. In early September 2020, we worked with Dr. Ming Wang staff to schedule my 3D Forever Young surgery for mid September 2020! I’m now 5 weeks post surgery and have never felt or seen better! I went into the surgery assuming I would see better but never envisioned that I would have PERFECT vision! I had the surgery on a Thursday and personally drove the 2 hours home the very next day! I’ve had no complications and my vision is amazing! I was initially concerned as I suffered from "dry eye" most of my adult life (my dear departed mother also suffered from it as well). But Dr. Ming Wang staff recommend a procedure called LipiFlow and it worked! I haven’t experienced dry eye period since that procedure! Strongly recommend it. Dr. Joshua Frenkel actually performed my 3D Forever Young procedure and was amazing. Dr. Frenkel and his very competent staff were super professional, informative and warm. Dr. Frenkel was super engaged from the very second I was prepped for surgery. He personally explained everything that would happen and that I might experience. I was not fearful at all, neither pre or post surgery, as everything happened as explained. I had no pain, period! I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute and the 3D Forever Young ! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 16, 2020

I just left my follow up appointment after cataract surgery at Wang Vision and I am already encouraging family members with early cataract problems to follow my lead. I got the new Vivity lens and less than 24 hours after surgery my vision is already 20/25 and still improving. Dr. Frenkel completed my surgery and he is a very confidence inspiring young doctor. He and Dr. Wang are also supported by an excellent staff. The entire process instilled great confidence in me and the results have so far been spectacular. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 16, 2020

I just left my follow up appointment after cataract surgery at Wang Vision and I am already encouraging family members with early cataract problems to follow my lead.  I got the new Vivity lens and less than 24 hours after surgery my vision is already 20/25 and still improving.  Dr. Frenkel completed my surgery and he is a very confidence inspiring young doctor. He and Dr. Wang are also supported by an excellent staff.  The entire process instilled great confidence in me and the results have so far been spectacular.  Don’t be afraid and don’t wait unless it is to save up for the new lens...google Vivity lens--Wang Vision is the only surgeon with this lens available right now and it will likely revolutionize cataract surgery in the coming years. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 16, 2020

I just left my follow up appointment after cataract surgery at Wang Vision and I am already encouraging family members with early cataract problems to follow my lead. I got the new Vivity lens and less than 24 hours after surgery my vision is already 20/25 and still improving. Dr. Frenkel completed my surgery and he is a very confidence inspiring young doctor. He and Dr. Wang are also supported by an excellent staff. The entire process instilled great confidence in me and the results have so far been spectacular. I know these results aren't 100% guaranteed but if you follow their instructions you will almost definitely obtain an excellent result like me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 07, 2020

I noticed that my vision was not as clear as it use to be, so my optometrist (from another vision center) told me it was time to have cataract surgery. I was a little nervous because I had never seen an ophthalmologist at that center. About a month earlier, I had taken my sister, who is legally blind, to Wang vision Institute hoping that her vision would be improved. Her doctor was Dr. Joshua Frenkel, who specializes in cataract and glaucoma surgery; all of which she had.  I was so pleased with the treatment she received and the compassion the whole staff showed us that I wanted Dr. Frenkel to remove my cataracts and treat my glaucoma. My surgery was June of this year and I cannot be more pleased. My vision is so crisp and clear that I see the world so differently now. My pressure is 10 in both eyes as opposed to being in the high teens and low twenties. Thank you Drs. Frenkel and Johnson for taking such good care of my sister and me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 17, 2020

Dr. Wang and his team were all phenomenal from start to finish. After attending a webinar hosted by his office I decided to move forward with the procedure. The surgery was painless and over in a flash. Dr. Frenkel performed my LASIK procedure and followed up with a phone call that night to see how I was doing. It has been a month since and I am happy to be free from glasses and contacts. Dr. Zimmerman was also very great. I loved his analogies to explain things. I am sending all my friends who want lasik to WVI. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 16, 2020

Dr. Wang and his team are the best. I felt so comfortable through the entire process. From the initial webinar I attended to the post procedure followup, I was taken care of. I chose to have the traditional LASIK surgery which was performed by Dr. Frenkel. The surgery was a breeze. The doctor talked me through every step of the way. The entire thing only took about 20 minutes too.. His entire team was just great from start to finish. I no longer have -7.5 vision thanks to the Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 10, 2020

I had the SMILE procedure done in August and I am so pleased with the results. Dr. Frenkel was amazing! I have been wearing glasses and contacts since I was in first grade and my contact prescription was -8. I honestly could not remember a time when I was able to see more than blurry colors and shapes without glasses or contacts. On day 1 after the procedure, I could already drive myself and see better than with my contacts (due to my astigmatism, my contacts would not always stay in place or focus well). Within 5 days, I had very clear vision and no discomfort. They set realistic expectations prior to the procedure since my prescription and astigmatism were so bad. I think the surgery exceeded those expectations. My middle-of-the-night wake-ups with my 8 month old are much easier to handle. There is no more knocking my glasses off the bedside table, then crawling around on the ground feeling for them while the baby screams and wakes up the entire house. Best decision ever. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 09, 2020

Wang Vision, all of the staff, Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Zimmerman made my Lasik experience such an easy and wonderful one. They made sure I was aware of every step of the process and made me feel comfortable before, during, and after the procedure. They could not have been more friendly or conversational with me which made the process all the more enjoyable and easy. The results of the Lasik are incredible, I woke up the next day and could read the posters in my room and see the leaves outside and I cried instantly, life changing. Thank you Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 08, 2020

Wang Vision, all of the staff, Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Zimmerman made my Lasik experience such an easy and wonderful one. They made sure I was aware of every step of the process and made me feel comfortable before, during, and after the procedure. They could not have been more friendly or conversational with me which made the process all the more enjoyable and easy. The results of the Lasik are incredible, I woke up the next day and could read the posters in my room and see the leaves outside and I cried instantly, life changing. Thank you Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 08, 2020

Wang Vision, all of the staff, Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Zimmerman made my Lasik experience such an easy and wonderful one. They made sure I was aware of every step of the process and made me feel comfortable before, during, and after the procedure. They could not have been more friendly or conversational with me which made the process all the more enjoyable and easy. The results of the Lasik are incredible, I woke up the next day and could read the posters in my room and see the leaves outside and I cried instantly, life changing. Thank you Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.F.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 01, 2020

I am about 4 weeks post op for the SMILE procedure. I had horrible vision prior to the procedure. Eventhough I was very nervous before the procedure, i felt NO pain during or after the procedure. The staff was really good and encouraged me during the entire operation (which is very helpful) I got SMILE done Friday morning and worked (on a computer) on Sunday. I would recommend giving yourself 2 full days to recover but you can return to pretty much normal day to day after 24 hrs of resting your eyes (closing them) immediately after. Glad I was able to shake the nerves enough to do it. Definitely recommend.Dr. Frenkel did a great job!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 18, 2020

I had small incision lasik in October 2019 to correct astigmatism and near sidedness in both of my eyes. I am beyond satisfied with the services I received. I see way better than I ever did with contacts or glasses. Everyone I have seen at Wang Vision Institute have been so nice and personable. They were amazing at easing the anxiety I experienced when it was time for the procedure and even took a video on my phone because I asked for one! Dr. Frenkel did a great job and I have not regretted having this done with him by any means! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Mar 18, 2020

I had small incision lasik in October 2019 to correct astigmatism and near sidedness in both of my eyes. I am beyond satisfied with the services I received. I see way better than I ever did with contacts or glasses. Everyone I have seen at Wang Vision Institute have been so nice and personable. They were amazing at easing the anxiety I experienced when it was time for the procedure and even took a video on my phone because I asked for one! Dr. Frenkel did a great job and I have not regretted having this done with him by any means! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2020

I had the greatest experience at Wang Vision Institute. I have been wearing glasses since I was in 4th grade and have always looked forward to the day I wouldn't have to wear contacts or glasses again. Wang vision made the entire experience  "breezy" to say the least beginning with booking my appointment. The wait time was verY minimal once at the office and it was Such an efficient visit. During the consultation, I learned I was a candidate for Lasik and Smile. I chose Smile and Dr. Frenkel performed my procedure. Everything went smoothly and better than I ever expected. Recovery has been easy as well. Dr Frenkel called me around 7 hourS after my procedure to check in and ask any questions. All in all, I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute as well as 3D Smile!! You'll be in great hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Feb 11, 2020

I had the greatest experience at Wang Vision Institute. I have been wearing glasses since I was in 4th grade and have always looked forward to the day I wouldn’t have to wear contacts or glasses again. Wang vision made the entire experience  "breezy" to say the least beginning with booking my appointment. The wait time was verY minimal once at the office and it was Such an efficient visit. During the consultation, I learned I was a candidate for Lasik and Smile. I chose Smile and Dr. Frenkel performed my procedure. Everything went smoothly and better than I ever expected. Recovery has been easy as well. Dr Frenkel called me around 7 hourS after my procedure to check in and ask any questions. All in all, I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute as well as 3D Smile!! You’ll be in great hands. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 30, 2020

Dr Frenkel did an amazing job with the 3D LASIK. just 8 hours after my vision is clear and zero irritation. thank you .... truly life changing More

5.0
DAPI
Review from W.P.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Jan 30, 2020

Dr Frenkel did an amazing job with the 3D LASIK. just 8 hours after my vision is clear and zero irritation. thank you .... truly life changing More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 23, 2020

I did my evaluation in August 2019 and then my procedure in December 2019, I will definitely continue to recommend Wang Vision. Dr. Wang and his team have great work ethics and I found them to be pleasant, professional and caring. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel, Eric and James who all contributed to my seamless procedure. Keep up the great work in 2020 and beyond!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 23, 2020

I did my evaluation in August 2019 and then my procedure in December 2019, I will definitely continue to recommend Wang Vision. The employees have great work ethics and I found them to be pleasant, professional and caring. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel, Eric and James who all contributed to my seamless procedure. Keep up the great work in 2020 and beyond!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 23, 2020

I did my evaluation in August 2019 and then my procedure in December 2019, I will definitely continue to recommend Wang Vision. Dr. Wang and his team have great work ethics and I found them to be pleasant, professional and caring. Special thanks to Dr. Frenkel, Eric and James who all contributed to my seamless procedure. Keep up the great work in 2020 and beyond!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.T.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 12, 2019

I could not have had a better experience. The staff was the perfect balance of professional and friendly. I felt well-informed before my surgery. While Dr. Frenkel performed my SMILE surgery, James talked me through it and helped keep me calm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Facebook  |  Dec 12, 2019

I could not have had a better experience. The staff was the perfect balance of professional and friendly. I felt well-informed before my surgery. While Dr. Frenkel performed my SMILE surgery, James talked me through it and helped keep me calm. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.F.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Nov 14, 2019

I had Lasik surgery 3 days ago. I’m not sure I have enough words to say, around how amazing this experience was. Scott is wonderful with the testing and answering my numerous questions. He remembered me every time I came in! And James, he was in the surgery with me. He updated me constantly throughout the procedure. He let me know everything was normal all through it, and then did count downs for me with each step. He helped with my anxiety so much! Dr. Frenkel has the best bedside manner, and called me that night to make sure I was doing well. I’m so happy with this team. My father will be making his appointment to help with his cataracts. It’s the only place I want him to go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 13, 2019

I had Lasik surgery 3 days ago. I’m not sure I have enough words to say, around how amazing this experience was. Scott is wonderful with the testing and answering my numerous questions. He remembered me every time I came in! And James, he was in the surgery with me. He updated me constantly throughout the procedure. He let me know everything was normal all through it, and then did count downs for me with each step. He helped with my anxiety so much! Dr. Frenkel has the best bedside manner, and called me that night to make sure I was doing well. I’m so happy with this team. My father will be making his appointment to help with his cataracts. It’s the only place I want him to go. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2019

A few years ago, I wasn't sure if I was a candidate for lasik and sent an email with my concerns.  Dr. Wang himself replied to my email.  I was impressed.  At the visit, Dr. Wang was very reassuring.  At the surgery, Dr. Wang prayed before my surgery which greatly reassured me more.  He also called personally that night to check on me. Then, I needed cataract surgery.  So 2 weeks ago, I had it done by Dr. Frenkel.  I had the same confidence in Dr. Frenkel as I did with Dr. Wang. Again, I was impressed by Wang Vision.    Everyone at the office was again very friendly and very efficient.  At the surgery center, everyone was very friendly and very caring, especially when I was very nervous about the procedure.  That night, Dr. Frenkel called checking on me and the surgery center called the next day. Be prepared, there is a LOT of wait time at the office visits and the procedures are very expensive. They do accept Care Credit which makes it very nice.  I do not like paying a lot, but for my eyes I want the best.   I believe that Wang Vision is the best for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2019

I had a 3D Lasik Procedures and it was one of the best decisions I have made. The staffs were very friendly and professional and made me feel very comfortable. I feel lucky to have Dr. Wang in Nashville and wouldn't trust anyone with my eyes. Thank you Dr. Wang, Dr. Frenkel and everyone else involved. I highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2019

I received the “First in Tennessee” Laser Assisted Inter Optic Lens Transplant. Dr. Joshua Frenkel was awesome! Absolutely no pain! I was reading 20/20 the next day after surgery. I highly recommend this procedure! Think of how much money you spend on glasses. The cost is so much cheaper. Go to aSeminar and you will receive a discount and a FREE eye exam to see if you are a candidate. So stop searching for glasses. Head to Wang Vision Center and get this taken care of immediately! My husband has already scheduled his appointment. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 10, 2019

I had a 3D Lasik Procedures and it was one of the best decisions I have made. The staffs were very friendly and professional and made me feel very comfortable. I feel lucky to have Dr. Wang in Nashville and wouldn't trust anyone with my eyes. Thank you Dr. Wang, Dr. Frenkel and everyone else involved. I highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 09, 2019

I had a 3D Lasik Procedures and it was one of the best decisions I have made. The staffs were very friendly and professional and made me feel very comfortable. I feel lucky to have Dr. Wang in Nashville and wouldn't trust anyone with my eyes. Thank you Dr. Wang, Dr. Frenkel and everyone else involved. I highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 02, 2019

LASIK surgery update : I can see!! 🎉Yesterday’s appointment with Wang Vision Institute was eye opening! Literally! We were told by friends that it would take minutes but my vision was so bad (-7 in one eye and -6 in the other) that it did not. I was treated differently. Some places probably wouldn’t have had the technology or skill to work on me. We are thankful for @wangvisionlasik that they could. The staff were thorough because this is my vision we were talking about. Only the best for Dr. Wang and you can tell that by his staff! •••••LASIK surgery part: Dr. Wang introduced himself to me as I was laying on the table with eyes closed and hovered over my right ear and I hear a sweet prayer coming from him - he immediately prayed over the operation & me and in Jesus’ name! Wow! The LASIK surgery part was handled by Dr. Frenkal with Dr. Wang by his side, coaching, encouraging the entire time. I kept hearing “Good job June.” “Keep looking at the light.” “You are doing great!” They kept on & never stopped communicating and there was even had a staff member holding my hand! He was awesome! It was so wonderful! Yes, it was uncomfortable and my eyes were exhausted but it is worth it to no longer be dependent on contacts and glasses. Thank you @dr.frenkel @wangvisionlasik #lasiksurgery #drmingwang #wangvisioninstitute I see now why everyone recommends you guys! 😉 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 13, 2019

LASIK surgery update : I can see!! 🎉Yesterday’s appointment with Wang Vision Institute was eye opening! Literally! 🤣 We were told by friends that it would take minutes but my vision was so bad (-7 in one eye and -6 in the other) that it did not. I was treated differently. Some places probably wouldn’t have had the technology or skill to work on me. We are thankful for @wangvisionlasik that they could. The staff were thorough because this is my vision we were talking about. Only the best for Dr. Wang and you can tell that by his staff! •••••LASIK surgery part: Dr. Wang introduced himself to me as I was laying on the table with eyes closed and hovered over my right ear and I hear a sweet prayer coming from him - he immediately prayed over the operation & me and in Jesus’ name! Wow! The LASIK surgery part was handled by Dr. Frenkal with Dr. Wang by his side, coaching, encouraging the entire time. I kept hearing “Good job June.” “Keep looking at the light.” “You are doing great!” They kept on & never stopped communicating and there was even had a staff member holding my hand! He was awesome! It was so wonderful! Yes, it was uncomfortable and my eyes were exhausted but it is worth it to no longer be dependent on contacts and glasses. Thank you @dr.frenkel @wangvisionlasik #lasiksurgery #drmingwang #wangvisioninstitute I see now why everyone recommends you guys! 😉 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 13, 2019

LASIK surgery update : I can see!! 🎉Yesterday’s appointment with Wang Vision Institute was eye opening! Literally! 🤣 We were told by friends that it would take minutes but my vision was so bad (-7 in one eye and -6 in the other) that it did not. I was treated differently. Some places probably wouldn’t have had the technology or skill to work on me. We are thankful for @wangvisionlasik that they could. The staff were thorough because this is my vision we were talking about. Only the best for Dr. Wang and you can tell that by his staff! •••••LASIK surgery part: Dr. Wang introduced himself to me as I was laying on the table with eyes closed and hovered over my right ear and I hear a sweet prayer coming from him - he immediately prayed over the operation & me and in Jesus’ name! Wow! The LASIK surgery part was handled by Dr. Frenkal with Dr. Wang by his side, coaching, encouraging the entire time. I kept hearing “Good job June.” “Keep looking at the light.” “You are doing great!” They kept on & never stopped communicating and there was even had a staff member holding my hand! He was awesome! It was so wonderful! Yes, it was uncomfortable and my eyes were exhausted but it is worth it to no longer be dependent on contacts and glasses. Thank you @[email protected] #lasiksurgery #drmingwang #wangvisioninstituteI see now why everyone recommends you guys! 😉 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Apr 25, 2015

I considered lasik for years, almost a decade actually. I've interviewed doctors in Memphis, Birmingham, Huntsville and of course Nashville. I only considered the doctors who got the top referrals and ratings. This was never something I was wanting to get a "good deal" on - I simply wanted the best. Dr. Wang was my choice because: 1. He has an excellent educational background (he knows both medicine and lasers.) 2. He's performed many procedures. 3. I figured that he would care about his patients. The last part was important because I didn't want to be just another procedure enabling my doctor to play golf on the weekends. I wanted a doctor who would treat my procedure as important to him. I am so glad I chose Dr. Wang. You can read all about the first two points, so really you probably just want to hear about the third point. I guessed that he would care about his patients because of all of the charity work he does, and my guess was right. Dr. Wang emails and calls his patients personally. His operating assistant walked me back to my hotel lobby (I was in Nashville alone getting lasik.) I received a follow up call the evening of my surgery from him asking if I was ok. Everything went well but I know that if there ever was a complication or if one develops he will be available to help. Since this is my eyesight I'm dealing with that's important to me. Also, it was a wonderful surprise to me to learn about Dr. Wang's faith as a Christian after choosing him purely on the basis of who I thought the best doctor would be. I asked Dr. Wang to pray with me before the surgery and he did. If you want Dr. Wang to operate on you because of his science background that's great. His credentials are there. I was so glad to have both the scientific expertise and God on my side when going through eye surgery. I have no doubt that God was and is watching over my eyes and also over Dr. Wang's work. Regardless of your religious background my recommendation is to go to Dr. Wang for lasik. There are many great doctors and I might have had a great lasik experience elsewhere. However, after years of research it was clear to me that I would be most comfortable trusting my eyesight to Dr. Wang, and I'm so glad I did. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 16, 2014

I considered lasik for years, almost a decade actually. I've interviewed doctors in Memphis, Birmingham, Huntsville and of course Nashville. I only considered the doctors who got the top referrals and ratings. This was never something I was wanting to get a "good deal" on - I simply wanted the best. Dr. Wang was my choice because:1. He has an excellent educational background (he knows both medicine and lasers.) 2. He's performed many procedures. 3. I figured that he would care about his patients. The last part was important because I didn't want to be just another procedure enabling my doctor to play golf on the weekends. I wanted a doctor who would treat my procedure as important to him. I am so glad I chose Dr. Wang. You can read all about the first two points, so really you probably just want to hear about the third point. I guessed that he would care about his patients because of all of the charity work he does, and my guess was right. Dr. Wang emails and calls his patients personally. His operating assistant walked me back to my hotel lobby (I was in Nashville alone getting lasik.) I received a follow up call the evening of my surgery from him asking if I was ok. Everything went well but I know that if there ever was a complication or if one develops he will be available to help. Since this is my eyesight I'm dealing with that's important to me. Also, it was a wonderful surprise to me to learn about Dr. Wang's faith as a Christian after choosing him purely on the basis of who I thought the best doctor would be. I asked Dr. Wang to pray with me before the surgery and he did. If you want Dr. Wang to operate on you because of his science background that's great. His credentials are there. I was so glad to have both the scientific expertise and God on my side when going through eye surgery. I have no doubt that God was and is watching over my eyes and also over Dr. Wang's work. Regardless of your religious background my recommendation is to go to Dr. Wang for lasik. There are many great doctors and I might have had a great lasik experience elsewhere. However, after years of research it was clear to me that I would be most comfortable trusting my eyesight to Dr. Wang, and I'm so glad I did. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 03, 2014

I considered lasik for years, almost a decade actually. I've interviewed doctors in Memphis, Birmingham, Huntsville and of course Nashville. I only considered the doctors who got the top referrals and ratings. This was never something I was wanting to get a "good deal" on - I simply wanted the best. Dr. Wang was my choice because: 1. He has an excellent educational background (he knows both medicine and lasers.) 2. He's performed many procedures. 3. I figured that he would care about his patients. The last part was important because I didn't want to be just another procedure enabling my doctor to play golf on the weekends. I wanted a doctor who would treat my procedure as important to him. I am so glad I chose Dr. Wang. You can read all about the first two points, so really you probably just want to hear about the third point. I guessed that he would care about his patients because of all of the charity work he does, and my guess was right. Dr. Wang emails and calls his patients personally. His operating assistant walked me back to my hotel lobby (I was in Nashville alone getting lasik.) I received a follow up call the evening of my surgery from him asking if I was ok. Everything went well but I know that if there ever was a complication or if one develops he will be available to help. Since this is my eyesight I'm dealing with that's important to me. Also, it was a wonderful surprise to me to learn about Dr. Wang's faith as a Christian after choosing him purely on the basis of who I thought the best doctor would be. I asked Dr. Wang to pray with me before the surgery and he did. If you want Dr. Wang to operate on you because of his science background that's great. His credentials are there. I was so glad to have both the scientific expertise and God on my side when going through eye surgery. I have no doubt that God was and is watching over my eyes and also over Dr. Wang's work. Regardless of your religious background my recommendation is to go to Dr. Wang for lasik. There are many great doctors and I might have had a great lasik experience elsewhere. However, after years of research it was clear to me that I would be most comfortable trusting my eyesight to Dr. Wang, and I'm so glad I did. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.