Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday November 2nd @ 7 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Ophthalmology Specialist Josh Frenkel, M.D., MPH Laser Vision Correction Services

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Drs. Ming Wang and Josh Frenkel, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter12 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 07, 2021

Amazing experience! Dr. Frenkel performed SMILE on my eyes, and by the time I sat up from the procedure, I was already seeing better. The next morning at my post-op check up, I was seeing 20/25! Dr. Frankel did an amazing job of walking me through the process and performing the surgery, and James the Surgical Tech kept me relaxed and having a good time. I can't thank them enough! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 12, 2021

I finally decided it was time to look into getting Lasik eye surgery and completed the webinar offered by Wang Vision Institute. I learned a lot about the procedure and even received a discount for scheduling a free consultation appointment. It was easy to schedule and they give excellent directions on where to park and go once you get there. I had the SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel and couldn't be happier. It was painless, quick, anf highly effective. Dr. Frenkel and his staff went above and beyond to talk me through each step of the procedure and ensure I was comfortable. They played music and even gave me a blanket and something to squeeze if I was anxious during the procedure. They even texted to check on how I was doing that evening. My only regret is I didn't do this years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 12, 2021

This year, I finally decided it was time to have corrective eye surgery performed and be free of the tyranny of my high prescription eyeglasses forever haha. Living in Nashville, I scoured the Internet for the best firms in Nashville, and I stumbled across the Wang Vision Institute. Setting up an appointment was easy, and they were flexible with my schedule. On the day of the appointment, each of the staff I interacted with were highly professional and took their jobs seriously. The facility is top-notch, and I instantly felt like I had made the right decision coming to the Wang Vision Institute. The actual surgery was quick and effective (although it always feels longer when it's going on!). Dr. Frenkel exhibited skill and excellent bedside manner (too bad more doctors can't perfect this combination!). The supporting staff in the operating room were also excellent and highly engaged in the operation. In the days that have followed my SMILE surgery, my vision has improved dramatically, and it's such a novel joy waking up each day with clear vision! Would 100% recommend giving the Wang Vision Institute a ring if you're seriously contemplating corrective eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.T.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 10, 2021

Wang vision changed my life! Back in January I went in hoping to get Lasik. After my I total exam I was regretfully informed that due to my high prescription I wouldn’t not be a candidate for Lasik. This was disappointing as I had saved the money and was ready to pull the trigger on this procedure. After asking what else could be done, Dr. Koch recommended another option. She said to make Lasik possible they needed to correct my refractive lenses. After those were corrected my new prescription would make me eligible for Lasik. She explained that this was a larger procedure and that the oral process would take about 6 months. I decided to follow through with this option and set the date. I received Refractive Lens Exchange surgery in both eyes from Dr. Frenkel in February 2021 this procedure is exactly the same as a standard cataracts procedure except I didn’t have cataracts). They replaced my existing lenses with artificial ones that would improve my vision. Three months later in May of 2021 I received a YAG procedure on both eyes. (This is where they removed the scar tissue from the last procedure. This is extremely common and took less than 15 minutes. It required no sedation and was done in their normal office in Nashville. This was also performed by Dr. Frenkel. Then three months after that (August 2021) I **FINALLY** got the Lasik procedure done in both eyes! (Dr. Frenkel again.) This was a journey, a process and at times a headache (the constant eye drops after each procedure lol). But let me tell you, I am now SEEING 20/20!!! Even as I type this I am using nothing but my eyeballs! No glasses or contacts! I have never in my entire life been without corrective lenses. Before my procedures I was in thick glasses or contacts to be able to do anything! I simply cannot explain how amazing it is to be free from that! If you are anything like myself, and you are considering this path as you weren’t eligible for the standard Lasik procedure itself I recommend that you DO IT! This was simply one of the best decisions of my life. Wang vision changed my life. They held my hand through the whole process and in the end I received the results I had been hoping for! Thank you Wang vision and thank you Jesus for the success and good results I’ve received! I’m beyond words! Pro tips: * Do the “A” plan. It’s cheaper in the long run and it’s very reassuring to have! * Don’t overthink it. The difference between this process and simply coming in for a Lasik procedure is that your progress takes much longer. Trust the process. Based on the character I believe this business holds, they wouldn’t recommend a procedure that you wouldn’t benefit from. * If you can pay cash do so! They offer a great discount for it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.F.  |  Source: Google  |  Aug 08, 2021

Great experience! Got SMILE a couple days ago and was treated by Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Johnson. They were both incredibly professional and friendly, walking me through the entire process and answering any questions I had. The procedure was quick and painless, and my eyes are healing as expected. Every other staff member that I interacted with was fantastic. Definitely recommend the Wang Institute for refractive surgery! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.N.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 28, 2021

I had the pleasure of not only getting my LASIK done at Wang Vision, but I also got to work closely with the team as a vendor. I can not speak highly enough about the team and their staff. Dr. Frenkel and the surgical techs walked me through every step of my procedure to make me feel comfortable and calm. I have also had a great experience every time I have come in for my post surgical appointments. If you're considering LASIK or another vision treatment, I highly recommend Dr. Frenkel and the Wang Vision team. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.W.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 23, 2021

Four weeks ago, I trusted Wang Vision Institute to improve and safeguard my precious eyesight. Best decision ever. Folks, these were my eyes, my only way to see this world that I live in. After 57 years of wearing either glasses or contacts, and seeing very well with either, I pretty much took them for granted. Then the cataracts came. After researching Dr. Wang and Dr. Frenkel, attending one of their virtual webinars, and being fully informed of the surgical process and my options, I can tell you that my Forever Young lenses were the perfect choice. Although it’s still early in the game, I am already thrilled with my vision both near and distance. Dr. Frenkel and his teams at Wang Vision and the Eye Surgery Center of Middle Tennessee know what they are doing. They are all professionals, and I am in the best of hands. Thank you so much! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from E.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 19, 2021

It is so nice to be able to wake up and see my clock in the morning. My eye sight is better now than I ever remember being able to see before. Just looking at the sky and the clouds is so amazing. It’s such a blessing to be able to finally see all of Gods wonderful details when I am outside hiking, fishing, and hunting. Everyone at the Wang Vision Institute was very nice and understanding. I was nervous coming in, but each individual was very reassuring and explained everything that was being done and going to be done throughout the procedure and recovery. I highly recommend getting the Lasik eye surgery at their institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Google  |  Jul 02, 2021

After 25 years of strongly depending on glasses and contacts, I can see without them at all! My husband found Wang Vision Institute through an internet search, and we were super impressed by their quality and sincerity. Everyone at the office is genuinely helpful. Dr. Zimmerman is really great and clearly explained my options. Because if my bad eyes (prescription of -10 and -9 in contacts), they recommended a newer procedure called SMILE. Dr. Frenkel and his assistant were very professional and calmly talked me through everything that was happening. None of it was painful. I walked out of the office holding my husband’s hand, since my vision was a bit cloudy, but by the next morning, my eye exam proved I was ready to drive without glasses or contacts. A miraculous experience and blessing in my life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.G.  |  Source: Google  |  Oct 02, 2019

I had a 3D Lasik Procedures and it was one of the best decisions I have made. The staffs were very friendly and professional and made me feel very comfortable. I feel lucky to have Dr. Wang in Nashville and wouldn't trust anyone with my eyes. Thank you Dr. Wang, Dr. Frenkel and everyone else involved. I highly recommend Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Sep 02, 2019

LASIK surgery update : I can see!! 🎉Yesterday’s appointment with Wang Vision Institute was eye opening! Literally! We were told by friends that it would take minutes but my vision was so bad (-7 in one eye and -6 in the other) that it did not. I was treated differently. Some places probably wouldn’t have had the technology or skill to work on me. We are thankful for @wangvisionlasik that they could. The staff were thorough because this is my vision we were talking about. Only the best for Dr. Wang and you can tell that by his staff! •••••LASIK surgery part: Dr. Wang introduced himself to me as I was laying on the table with eyes closed and hovered over my right ear and I hear a sweet prayer coming from him - he immediately prayed over the operation & me and in Jesus’ name! Wow! The LASIK surgery part was handled by Dr. Frenkal with Dr. Wang by his side, coaching, encouraging the entire time. I kept hearing “Good job June.” “Keep looking at the light.” “You are doing great!” They kept on & never stopped communicating and there was even had a staff member holding my hand! He was awesome! It was so wonderful! Yes, it was uncomfortable and my eyes were exhausted but it is worth it to no longer be dependent on contacts and glasses. Thank you @dr.frenkel @wangvisionlasik #lasiksurgery #drmingwang #wangvisioninstitute I see now why everyone recommends you guys! 😉 More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 16, 2014

I considered lasik for years, almost a decade actually. I've interviewed doctors in Memphis, Birmingham, Huntsville and of course Nashville. I only considered the doctors who got the top referrals and ratings. This was never something I was wanting to get a "good deal" on - I simply wanted the best. Dr. Wang was my choice because:1. He has an excellent educational background (he knows both medicine and lasers.) 2. He's performed many procedures. 3. I figured that he would care about his patients. The last part was important because I didn't want to be just another procedure enabling my doctor to play golf on the weekends. I wanted a doctor who would treat my procedure as important to him. I am so glad I chose Dr. Wang. You can read all about the first two points, so really you probably just want to hear about the third point. I guessed that he would care about his patients because of all of the charity work he does, and my guess was right. Dr. Wang emails and calls his patients personally. His operating assistant walked me back to my hotel lobby (I was in Nashville alone getting lasik.) I received a follow up call the evening of my surgery from him asking if I was ok. Everything went well but I know that if there ever was a complication or if one develops he will be available to help. Since this is my eyesight I'm dealing with that's important to me. Also, it was a wonderful surprise to me to learn about Dr. Wang's faith as a Christian after choosing him purely on the basis of who I thought the best doctor would be. I asked Dr. Wang to pray with me before the surgery and he did. If you want Dr. Wang to operate on you because of his science background that's great. His credentials are there. I was so glad to have both the scientific expertise and God on my side when going through eye surgery. I have no doubt that God was and is watching over my eyes and also over Dr. Wang's work. Regardless of your religious background my recommendation is to go to Dr. Wang for lasik. There are many great doctors and I might have had a great lasik experience elsewhere. However, after years of research it was clear to me that I would be most comfortable trusting my eyesight to Dr. Wang, and I'm so glad I did. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.