Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday, December 6th @ 6:45pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for SMILE Services in Nashville, TN

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Dr. Ming Wang, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter22 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Nov 03, 2022

I would highly recommend W Vision Institute. I have had horrible vision since I was a teen, I was always nervous about any kind of laser vision surgery…but after years of dealing with sensitive eyes being aggravated by contacts, I finally decided to do it. The entire team at W Vision Institute made the entire process a breeze. They educated me on all of my different options and took time explaining every step of the procedure. I decided on the SMILE procedure, and it was completed by Dr Ming W. I was shocked at how quick the entire surgery was. 15 minutes in the surgical suite and I can now see 20/20. I was impressed that Dr. Ming W even called me the night of my procedure to check in on me. I cannot believe I waited so long to do this! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 15, 2022

I have been wearing contacts/glasses since I was 11. I made sure I stayed on top of my eye appointments which I dread, because my eyesight was so bad. All I ever heard was my gosh your blind. If your eyesight keeps getting worse you will have your license pulled. I have also been advised that I could not do eye surgery since my eyesight was so bad. After my last eye appointment I felt defeated. My husband and best friend told me to get a second opinion. I called and made a consult which changed my life! I qualified for the SMILE procedure which we did the same day. The entire staff was so amazing. Once I got back to the surgery room Dr Ming and Dr Jones walked me through the entire process which was only 30 minutes. I was beyond amazed right after my surgery I was able to see things I have never been able to before such as my husband’s eye color,. I went back the next day for a check up since I did have a high prescription and I had 20/20 vision which I have never had. I was beyond amazed and so grateful that I listed and went to see Dr Ming . He even called that night after my surgery to check on me. Now I am able to read signs and feel more comfortable driving! Thank you Dr Ming you gave me this beautiful vision and I can actually see the world around me. I will be forever grateful!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 14, 2022

I went in just for a LASIK/Smile consultation, but after discussing all the details with the staff, I felt confident that SMILE would be the best decision for me. They walked me through all of the potential complications, of which there really aren't many at all, while also discussing pricing options. The best part was the fact that I was able to complete the surgery that day itself, which took at most 5 minutes for the entire procedure and was painless. Dr. Ming and James, the lab technician, made me feel very comfortable during the whole procedure and it led to an amazing post op experience. The feeling of seeing without contacts/glasses was truly breathtaking, and I would recommend this for anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jun 02, 2022

* note the site doesn’t let you post his last name so augmenting the spelling for publishing.The ideal experience at W Vision Institute. I initially came in for a consult in April of 2022 and was planning for a same day procedure which isn’t uncommon for patients who come in for laser surgery.I was provided thorough and prompt instructions and guidelines via email prior to coming in. Once in the office, the staff completed the initial tests/exams to determine if I was a candidate for Lasik and/or SMILE. I was a candidate for both, fortunately and ultimately opted for SMILE because of my “high prescription”, over -4.0 in each eye.Right before the procedure when getting ready to pay, I ran into a hiccup with my FSA provider that unfortunately resulted in me postponing my procedure to a future date. The staff and my coordinator were understanding and had no issues whatsoever - they went above the call of duty to help me try and resolve the issues with my FSA and kept in touch in the meantime.Once the FSA issue was resolved, I rescheduled and had a great experience - once again. The surgery went very smoothly and I had 20/20 vision by the next day, with improvements still on the horizon. Couldn’t be happier that I won’t need to deal with contacts/glasses for many many years!The procedure itself was painless, a slight amount of pressure (and let’s be honest, there are many doctors visits in life when they say you might feel “slight discomfort, or pressure” and sometimes that discomfort and pressure feels a lot more intense than you were expecting)..but in this case, with my right eye I don’t think I felt hardly anything! The left eye, I felt a bit more pressure but no pain. Almost like a 5 second headache which quickly resolved.The post ops instructions were clear and laid out prior to the surgery and we were provided everything we needed before the surgery.The only item needed that wasn’t provided was prescription eye drops, which they called in to my pharmacy before we left. As a tip for future patients, it’s called Moxifloxacin, and you will have to pay out of pocket for this. I recommend finding a discounted price on GoodRx, so when you let them know your pharmacy, they can send it to one with the price you want. Because it would have been $90-150 pharmacy rate, but we got it for $20 at Publix and it was only $13.99 on GoodRx at Costco. Lessons learned!All in all, a wonderful experience without a hitch. Dr. W was kind and thoughtful. I’m not an anxious person around medical persons or procedures, but I know for people who may have more anxiety, the staff and Dr. W will take amazing care of you and help you feel at peace. 😊As far as costs go, you will pay per eye and there are some additional “per eye” costs that are additional and some upgrade packages. I would classify it as an investment that is well worth it but make sure you have a good understanding of the costs before committing. SMILE is more expensive than Lasik because it’s a newer technology. But recognize, this was not an inexpensive investment and maybe something you’d like to weigh based on your current prescription and investment in eye care regularly. With annual visits, new lens and glasses annually for me, and $200 worth of 2-week contacts per year, it will pay itself off in a short while. The price of the years of convenience is something to consider as well!The base price also includes post op visits, the procedure, and the post op materials.Altogether, I couldn’t be happier and I have a feeling the more I heal, the happier I will be with the results. I was 20/20 the day after procedure and it will continue to improve over the days and weeks ahead.Thank you to the team and Dr. W for my vision back, such a gift! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 15, 2022

I've been recommending him to all my friends and family. I had really bad vision for such a long time (-9.75 and -10), and was not qualified for LASIK. I more recently started having trouble seeing up close, as my prescription was so high it was distorting images nearby! I felt that I may never be able to see clearly... until I decided to have one more opinion. When I first stepped into his office, I felt instantly at home. I went through some tests, and was told I qualified for SMILE!! The staff was great, from my very first consultation appointment to all my follow up appointments! The doctor was so personable and even prayed before my surgery (which I really appreciated). From start to finish, I never once felt uncomfortable. The surgery itself was super easy - it just looks like a white napkin is placed over the eye and someone is moving a flashlight around! No pain! It's now been two weeks, I can see really well, and am so happy!! If you're on the fence, just go for it!! You won't regret it!!Some advice: you can go to his Tuesday night seminar to be enrolled in a drawing to potentially get 50% off the surgery, and learn some really cool things about his life!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 02, 2022

I’ve wanted to have vision correction for the longest time. I have worn glasses since the age of 7 and contacts from my teen years. Now 36 I have no of ever seeing without having to have them on. With vision at -6 I couldn’t do anything in my daily life without having them o I’ve wanted to have vision correction for the longest time. I have worn glasses since the age of 7 and contacts from my teen years. Now 36 I have no of ever seeing without having to have them on. With vision at -6 I couldn’t do anything in my daily life without having them on. I chose to do the SMILE correction surgery with W.V.I. this past week and already I see 20/20! It’s the most amazing feeling to wake up and see my children and my husband without looking for my glasses. The moment surgery was completed I got extremely emotional being able to see in the room immediately. Dr. Ming X.W. is an extremely talented surgeon and deeply cares for his patients. He even prayed with me before he began the surgery. That alone made me feel calm and at ease. His staff is wonderful from the front desk welcoming you as soon as you walk in to the door to the optometrists making sure your eyes are healthy and ready for surgery and all of the other staff in between! They make you feel like family and not a patient. I highly recommend W.V.I. for your vision correction needs! You only want the best for your eyes! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 26, 2022

Where to begin? I recently got SMILE surger in mid-April, only to be able to type this message comfortably without glasses before May. The consultation was smooth and professional and I was relieved that I could be a candidate for SMILE. I was also able to learn more about the process through their webinar sessions. The doctor and his staff are so nice. Kayla Sinyard answered all my questions. As much as I wanted the surgery, I was still very scared before the procedure He really put me at ease and the surgery was fairly quick. I am grateful and pleased with the results!! I had extreme nearsightness to the point that I would need glasses when I lost my glasses. I also had GPC which prevented me from wearing contacts. To have this surgery done and have my site back is hard to describe on how amazing it is. I'm blessed and happy and plan to share the experience with my coworkers and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 16, 2022

Had a great experience fixing my vision and his amazing staff. SMILE was a life changing experience and would highly recommend it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 13, 2022

If I could him 200 stars I would! My experience was incredible and I am so thankful for my new and improved vision. I was so very anxious and had wanted a procedure done for years but was too nervous. After extensive and helpful conversations I decided to go with the SMILE procedure and he was so kind and helpful throughout the entire process. His staff was so comforting and I felt no pain or discomfort at all. The investment could not be more with it. I am four days after my procedure now and feel amazing and can see crystal clear. He changed my life and I am so grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Apr 12, 2022

I recently had the opportunity to visit and have the SMILE procedure done to correct my vision. I had an AMAZING experience from start to finish. The appointment set up process was smooth and easy-- as the New Patient Coordinator was helpful and responsive. When going into the office, i was able to have my consult and procedure done on the same day. The entire office was kind and pleasant-- and didn't mind answering the millions of questions that came to mind. When preparing for the procedure, I was walked through the entire process-- making me feel confident of what i was walking into. Dr MingWang was also very enthusiastic and knowledgable. He definitely made me feel comfortable throughout the whole procedure. He even prayed before we began-- which calmed my nerves. The procedure itself was painless and QUICK. Now that I'm a week post-op, I am so very happy that I did it-- and should have done it sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 13, 2022

10/10 very professional and effective! I recently got SMILE surgery done here and everyone was amazing. They took the time to answer any and all of my questions making sure that I felt comfortable going in. Everyone was calm and welcoming from the front desk all the way to my check up appointment. I love being able to see without my glasses and recommend everyone do it! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Feb 04, 2022

I had SMILE in Jan 2022. It went really well. I am used to be extremely near sighted, but after surgery, my eye sight was instantly better. It's almost three weeks later, my eyes feel so normal and my eyesight is pretty good as well. Thank you for all the technicians and surgeon. The surgery itself is painless and really quick. More

4.8
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 27, 2022

From start to finish my experience was nothing short of amazing! I went in for my consult and surgery on the same day and was in and out in about 6 hours. During my time there eachperson that I came into contact with had afriendly attitude and calming presence. My only regret is not having the procedure done sooner!While I only met Dr Joshua Frankel for a brief time during surgery he was very friendly and calming. He did the SMILE procedure on my eyes and one day post op and healing is fine and I have 20/20 vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Jan 19, 2022

Dr. Wang and the entire team are absolutely incredible. I felt completely taken care of through intentional support, continual encouragement, and an absolutely seamless SMILE procedure. From phone calls, email reminders, examinations, and surgery, I've never felt more taken care of. Dr. Wang and the team are literally an answer to prayer. So grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 08, 2021

This changed my life. My livelihood depends on my eyes, and I chose Wang Vision because of their reputability. I went in for a consult, and although I was not a candidate for Lasik, I was still a candidate for SMILE. I was fortunate enough to get my procedure done on the same day! I was pretty nervous about starting the procedure, but the staff was amazing and made me feel so comfortable and relaxed (as I could be lol). The procedure was quick, and Dr. Wang commanded so much confidence and care, there was little for me to worry about. The techs during the procedure were very helpful in coaching me through the process too! I'm so glad I chose Wang Vision since it is the only institute in the state that offers the SMILE procedure that I needed, I didn't need to be referred anywhere else. Post procedure, it was much more comfortable than others' experience with Lasik, and I am already seeing 20/20 after four days. I highly recommend SMILE if you are a candidate! I would only trust my vision with Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Dec 06, 2021

We came to Wang Vision Institute to check if my best friend could get any eye surgery for her to see better. Just so you know, she had -12 in one eye only.Dr. Ming Wang performed the surgery, and this man is a man of God. surgery went well she got the Smile! I feel so honored to meet him and that my best friend can enjoy her eyes for a long time. I'm grateful to God that He made this able for her, and I believe He still can make a complete miracle in her eyes. I believe doctors and medical professionals are the hands of God here on Earth. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 26, 2021

Highly recommend Wang Vision Institute! I went in for SMILE consult and was able to get surgery the same day by Dr. Frenkel. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my visit there. The surgery itself was painless and took about 20 mins total. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Oct 04, 2021

Had an amazing experience with my SMILE surgery recently. I went from extremely poor vision to virtually 20/20. It didn't hurt and every effort was made to ensure I felt confident and comfortable during the operation. They followed up with a wellness call the night of the procedure just to make sure everything went well. Highly recommended! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 11, 2021

I finally decided it was time to look into getting Lasik eye surgery and completed the webinar offered by Wang Vision Institute. I learned a lot about the procedure and even received a discount for scheduling a free consultation appointment. It was easy to schedule and they give excellent directions on where to park and go once you get there. I had the SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel and couldn't be happier. It was painless, quick, and highly effective. Im still in disbelief that I'm seeing this well with my own eyes and im no longer dependent on contacts! Dr. Frenkel and his staff went above and beyond to talk me through each step of the procedure and ensure I was comfortable. They played music and even gave me a blanket and something to squeeze if I was anxious during the procedure. They even texted to check on how I was doing that evening. My only regret is I didn't do this years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Sep 02, 2021

I had SMILE surgery at Wang Vision Institute. Everyone I interacted with was great. They were all very professional and knowledgeable. I was able to see and even drive the day after the procedure. I waited 3 months to write the review just to be sure there were no problems. My vision is perfect! I am extremely pleased. More

4.8
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  Aug 23, 2021

Dr. Wang and his staff was terrific! My vision is 20/20 after getting the Smile Lasik procedure. It feels so great to wake up and be able to not have to reach for my glasses. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to correct their vision More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: RateMDs  |  May 11, 2021

Everyone at Wang Vision has been so professional and kind. The examination is very thorough. My SMILE lasik procedure was a breeze! I have had to wear pretty thick eyeglasses or contacts most of my life. It almost seems like magic that after having a fifteen min procedure, I can wake up and see everyday without them! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.