Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday November 29th @6:45 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Director Ming Wang, M.D., Ph.D. Laser Vision Correction Services

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Dr. Ming Wang, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter18 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from S.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 18, 2022

Dr. Ming Wang is truly a gem in the industry.The office is upscale and clean; the staff is friendly, kind and genuine. You can tell he is a pioneer in the vision world, makes you feel very comfortable before the procedure, speaks to you by name during the surgery which makes you feel very much at ease. I also love that Dr. Wang is charismatic and is so proud of his journey. At the end of my successful procedure, he gave me a book written about his life. Cannot wait to read it.I chose to get SMILE instead of traditional Lasik. It was explained to me as a less invasive, safer version of Lasik. What they say about waking up the next day and being able to see is true. I’m very happy in my choice to go to Wang Vision Institute. Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 13, 2022

Dr. Wang is AMAZING! Not only is he a genuinely caring doctor, but he is incredibly skilled in his profession. My eyesight was 20/20 within days of the SMILE procedure! I highly recommend Dr. Wang and his amazing staff! Everyone was so kind, and you can feel the sincerity in every step. From reception, to Cameron (my fantastic surgery coordinator) to Dr Wang, you are made to feel like a part of their wonderful family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 08, 2022

From start to finish Wang Vision Institute was phenomenal. Lasik eye surgery is something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time and there is no better doctor than Dr Wang. His staff was friendly and courteous. Expect the WHOLE process to take several hours (they told me about that at the beginning.) During the quick surgery, technician James talked to me through the whole thing and told me exactly what was happening. Dr Wang was so personable and really made sure that I felt comfortable and not nervous. Can’t recommend them enough for all of your optical needs! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 26, 2022

Where to begin? I recently got SMILE surgery at Wang Vision Institute in mid-April, only to be able to type this message comfortably without glasses before May. The consultation was smooth and professional and I was relieved that I could be a candidate for SMILE. I was also able to learn more about the process through their webinar sessions. Dr. Wang and his staff are so nice. Kayla Sinyard answered all my questions. As much as I wanted the surgery, I was still very scared before the procedure. Dr. Wang really put me at ease and the surgery was fairly quick. I am grateful and pleased with the results!! I had extreme nearsightness to the point that I would need glasses when I lost my glasses. I also had GPC which prevented me from wearing contacts. To have this surgery done and have my site back is hard to describe on how amazing it is. I’m blessed and happy and plan to share the experience with my coworkers and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Dec 08, 2021

This changed my life. My livelihood depends on my eyes, and I chose Wang Vision because of their reputability. I went in for a consult, and although I was not a candidate for Lasik, I was still a candidate for SMILE. I was fortunate enough to get my procedure done on the same day! I was pretty nervous about starting the procedure, but the staff was amazing and made me feel so comfortable and relaxed (as I could be lol). The procedure was quick, and Dr. Wang commanded so much confidence and care, there was little for me to worry about. The techs during the procedure were very helpful in coaching me through the process too! I’m so glad I chose Wang Vision since it is the only institute in the state that offers the SMILE procedure that I needed, I didn’t need to be referred anywhere else. Post procedure, it was much more comfortable than others’ experience with Lasik, and I am already seeing 20/20 after four days. I highly recommend SMILE if you are a candidate! I would only trust my vision with Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 07, 2021

I cannot recommend Wang Vision Institute enough!  Dr. Frenkel performed SMILE on both of my eyes, and it was a perfect experience.  Dr. Frenkel was professional, thorough, and ready to answer any question or concern I had.  James, the Surgical Tech, was great at keeping the process enjoyable and fun!  I sat up from the procedure and could already see a marked improvement in my vision.  I would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute for anyone interested in corrective vision surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.N.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 02, 2021

I am very pleased with Dr. Frenkel and everyone I interacted with at Wang Vision Institute when I had SMILE surgery. They were all very professional and knowledgeable. My surgery could not have gone any better! My vision is perfect! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.O.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 12, 2021

This year, I finally decided it was time to have corrective eye surgery performed and be free of the tyranny of my high prescription eyeglasses forever haha. Living in Nashville, I scoured the Internet for the best firms in Nashville, and I stumbled across the Wang Vision Institute.Setting up an appointment was easy, and they were flexible with my schedule. On the day of the appointment, each of the staff I interacted with were highly professional and took their jobs seriously. The facility is top-notch, and I instantly felt like I had made the right decision coming to the Wang Vision Institute.The actual surgery was quick and effective (although it always feels longer when it’s going on!). Dr. Frenkel exhibited skill and excellent bedside manner (too bad more doctors can’t perfect this combination!). The supporting staff in the operating room were also excellent and highly engaged in the operation.In the days that have followed my SMILE surgery, my vision has improved dramatically, and it’s such a novel joy waking up each day with clear vision! Would 100% recommend giving the Wang Vision Institute a ring if you’re seriously contemplating corrective eye surgery. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.C.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 08, 2020

Wang Vision, all of the staff, Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Zimmerman made my Lasik experience such an easy and wonderful one. They made sure I was aware of every step of the process and made me feel comfortable before, during, and after the procedure. They could not have been more friendly or conversational with me which made the process all the more enjoyable and easy. The results of the Lasik are incredible, I woke up the next day and could read the posters in my room and see the leaves outside and I cried instantly, life changing. Thank you Wang Vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.B.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Nov 12, 2019

A few years ago, I wasn't sure if I was a candidate for lasik and sent an email with my concerns.  Dr. Wang himself replied to my email.  I was impressed.  At the visit, Dr. Wang was very reassuring.  At the surgery, Dr. Wang prayed before my surgery which greatly reassured me more.  He also called personally that night to check on me. Then, I needed cataract surgery.  So 2 weeks ago, I had it done by Dr. Frenkel.  I had the same confidence in Dr. Frenkel as I did with Dr. Wang. Again, I was impressed by Wang Vision.    Everyone at the office was again very friendly and very efficient.  At the surgery center, everyone was very friendly and very caring, especially when I was very nervous about the procedure.  That night, Dr. Frenkel called checking on me and the surgery center called the next day. Be prepared, there is a LOT of wait time at the office visits and the procedures are very expensive. They do accept Care Credit which makes it very nice.  I do not like paying a lot, but for my eyes I want the best.   I believe that Wang Vision is the best for me. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.T.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 05, 2018

My vision has been extremely blurry ever since I was in the 3rd grade, I am currently 24 now. My grandfather and both sisters had lasik performed by Dr Wang this year and they encouraged me to have the procedure done. I was a little weary at first, due to the fact that I knew little to nothing about the surgery. Finally, after going on vacation and being unable to see when I snorkeled, I made an appointment at the wang vision institute. That was the best decision of my life. The procedure went extremely well. Dr Wang and his staff were the best individuals I have ever encountered. I have anxiety disorder and his staff made me feel 110% comfortable. After the procedure was completed, staff members took a video of me being able to see my fiancé clearly for the first time without glasses. I immediately busted out in tears. I am so blessed for this opportunity and grateful for the giving and selfless person Dr. Wang is. I will forever treasure this experience and I am so thankful I can see again! thank you Dr. Wang for changing my life! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.R.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Apr 26, 2018

Dr. Wang is the best in town! I was wearing contacts & glasses for about 13yrs where my eyes were getting very dry & contacts where causing a physical reaction. As a result, I went & did the SMILE surgery which is great if you are near sighted. It is less invasive, less complications, & safer than all the other options. If you can handle getting a tattoo, you can handle the discomfort of this surgery which is about 1-2mins per eye; I experience nothing in my right eye & some  in my left where eye drops fixed that right after the surgery. I have no redness & for about a week you will need to use special eye drops to heal. Dr. Wang & staff spent plenty of time with me & I think it is his life’s mission to do this kind of work. I trust him not only by his credentials but he is a perfectionist in surgery. I would for sure go to the free educational seminars before to see if you can get a better discount. I would ask where do other doctors go when they need Lasik, & I would ask competitors if they use a blade... He has the latest technology & is worth the price. Dr. Wang is the best for a reason & I trust him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 05, 2018

I had LASIK surgery with Dr Wang on July 23,2001. Prior to this procedure I was very near sighted and had worn glasses since 2nd grade. For a couple of years prior to this I had started wearing bifocal glasses to read and work on the computer. I was so near sighted that when I traveled and stayed in a hotel I had to careful when I took my glasses off at night because I could not find them in the morning by sight but found them by feeling around on the night stand. Now 17 years later I still do not need glasses for distance viewing but have started wearing cheaters for reading. I can not say enough good things about Dr Wang and how he has changed my life. I have loved living a glasses free life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.S.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Sep 28, 2016

Dr. Wang and his staff are the best around. They all meet you with a smile and a warm handshake.I have worn glasses (very strong prescription) since I was a year old. I have been going to doctors my whole life and no one had a solution for my vision. I even went to a few lasik "doctors" and felt like I was laughed right out of their office.Then a Wang Institute seminar came across my Facebook and I decided to go and find out if he had anything for me.He was so respectful and after the thorough eye exam he informed me that he could help me. I cried.Its amazing after all these years, I can see, no more heavy, nose crushing glasses on this face.Dr. Wang is truly a gift from God.I can’t thank him enough and praise the Lord for bringing him into my life. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.E.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Aug 29, 2016

Had an incredible experience at the Wang Vision Institute for my 3D Lasik eye surgery. I can’t believe I walked out and could see signs and things far away that I would have never been able to see even in my contacts! Almost like having a new life. The professionalism that Dr. Wang and his staff gave to me made the time before surgery so peaceful and the time after so exciting and comfortable. Thank you guys so much!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jan 09, 2016

I had a very good experience getting LASIK done at Wang's office.  Complete time I spend for the eval and process was 3 hours, 15 min.  Very nice people. Update:  I got an enhancement to get the last 5% of my left eye perfect.  Staff was very happy to work with the year warranty I had, no hassle at all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 20, 2015

Dr. Wang and his entire staff are professional, kind and informative. They went out of their way to reassure me, answer my questions and make me feel relaxed and comfortable. When I learned that I have steep corneas that would require PRK instead of Lasik I was disappointed and a bit panicked. PRK sounded more painful and would require a longer recovery time, neither of which I'd planned for. Erika, my coordinator, took the initiative to speak to Dr. Wang and have him review my test results. Dr. Wang determined that my corneas were only slightly steep and that I could indeed have 3D Lasik. I had the procedure in the late afternoon and was resting comfortably last night. I woke up this morning and could read the bedside clock. I am typing this without glasses which was IMPOSSIBLE this time yesterday. I feel like the world is much bigger today and I think Dr. Wang and his team. I'm so glad I made the decision to use Wang Vision for my corrective surgery and will refer friends and family as well. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.M.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Oct 11, 2014

I am extremely satisfied with everything from Wang Vision institute! After my consultation I was able to get an appointment for Lasik on the exact day and time I wanted. They even worked with my schedule and gave me an appointment later than they typically allow. The office is nice, clean, and peaceful. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly. The day of surgery went very well. The procedure was surprisingly entirely painless! After I got home and went to sleep and woke up 8 hours later I could see perfectly clear! I was even able to drive and accomplish chores less than 24 hours after the procedure. I really appreciated that a few hours after the surgery Dr. Mang himself called me to see how I was doing. This was around 9pm. I was incredibly impressed that he cared enough to call to check on me after hours. They automatically scheduled me for a followup appointment the next day to make sure everything was okay. One of the best parts is each time I came to the office I was able to see Dr. Mang. Additionally it was Dr. Mang himself who does the surgeries. I am incredibly pleased with my results and I would recommend him to anyone! It is key that your surgeon is available to you both before and after surgery. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.