Free Educational Webinar: Tuesday October 11th @ 6:45 pm

Learn More

Patient Reviews

Reviews for Nashville, TN Director Ming Wang, M.D., Ph.D. SMILE Services

Patient Reviews

Having wonderful vision and healthy eyes can dramatically change a person's life for the better, which is why our dedicated team at Wang Vision Institute in Nashville, TN is proud to be at the center of revolutionary optical care. Our highly trained optometrists and ophthalmologists, who work under the guidance of Dr. Ming Wang, offer advanced glaucoma, cataract, and refractive surgical procedures, along with comprehensive eye health management for conditions, such as dry eye syndrome.

For over a decade, thousands of people ranging from prolific celebrities to hardworking men and women across Tennessee have trusted our facility to provide high-quality care and contemporary vision solutions. When it comes to choosing an eye surgeon or eye care specialist, it's essential to do your research to ensure that you're trusting a credentialed professional with years of experience and a passion for producing healthy, clear eyes. Our respected office has been privileged to receive detailed feedback from a great number of our unique clients. We invite you to browse through our long listing of testimonials and envision the care you could receive when you place your trust in our capable and dedicated hands.

Filter22 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 16, 2022

I have been wearing contacts/glasses since I was 11. I made sure I stayed on top of my eye appointments which I dread, because my eyesight was so bad. All I ever heard was my gosh your blind. If your eyesight keeps getting worse you will have your license pulled. I have also been advised that I could not do eye surgery since my eyesight was so bad. After my last eye appointment I felt defeated. My husband and best friend told me to get a second opinion. I called and made a consult which changed my life! I qualified for the SMILE procedure which we did the same day. The entire staff was so amazing. Once I got back to the surgery room Dr Wang and Dr Jones walked me through the entire process which was only 30 minutes. I was beyond amazed right after my surgery I was able to see things I have never been able to before such as my husband’s eye color,. I went back the next day for a check up since I did have a high prescription and I had 20/20 vision which I have never had. I was beyond ama More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 21, 2022

I wasn't sure if I was a candidate for SMILE or LASIK. I had a consultation at Wang Inst and had the surgery that day. I was seeing 20/25 in less than 24 hours. Dr. Wang and his team are fantastic from the top down. I highly recommend Wang Institute! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from N.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 14, 2022

I went in just for a LASIK/Smile consultation, but after discussing all the details with the staff, I felt confident that SMILE would be the best decision for me. They walked me through all of the potential complications, of which there really aren't many at all, while also discussing pricing options. The best part was the fact that I was able to complete the surgery that day itself, which took at most 5 minutes for the entire procedure and was painless. Dr. Wang and James, the lab technician, made me feel very comfortable during the whole procedure and it led to an amazing post op experience. The feeling of seeing without contacts/glasses was truly breathtaking, and I would recommend this for anyone. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.D.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2022

I scheduled my evaluation and was able to get a good understanding of which surgery (lasik or smile) was for me. I was able to schedule my lasik procedure a few weeks afterwords. The surgery was painless and quick. Recovery is also painless, just follow your doctor's orders and recovery will go great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jun 02, 2022

The ideal experience at Wang Vision Institute.I was provided thorough and prompt instructions and guidelines via email prior to coming in. Once in the office, the staff completed the initial tests/exams to determine if I was a candidate for Lasik and/or SMILE. I was a candidate for both, fortunately and ultimately opted for SMILE because of my “high prescription”, over -4.0 in each eye.All in all, a wonderful experience without a hitch - and pain free. Dr. Wang was kind and thoughtful. I’m not an anxious person around medical persons or procedures, but I know for people who may have more anxiety, the staff and Dr. Wang will take amazing care of you and help you feel at peace.Altogether, I couldn’t be happier and I have a feeling the more I heal, the happier I will be with the results. I was 20/20 the day after procedure and it will continue to improve over the days and weeks ahead.Thank you to the team and Dr. Wang for my vision back, such a gift! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 16, 2022

I've been recommending Wang Vision Institute to all my friends and family. I had really bad vision for such a long time (-9.75 and -10), and was not qualified for LASIK. I more recently started having trouble seeing up close, as my prescription was so high it was distorting images nearby! I felt that I may never be able to see clearly... until I decided to have one more opinion. When I first stepped into the office of Wang Vision Institute, I felt instantly at home. I went through some tests, and was told I qualified for SMILE!! The staff was great, from my very first consultation appointment to all my follow up appointments! Dr. Wang was so personable and even prayed before my surgery (which I really appreciated). From start to finish, I never once felt uncomfortable. The surgery itself was super easy - it just looks like a white napkin is placed over the eye and someone is moving a flashlight around! No pain! It's now been two weeks, I can see really well, and am so happy!! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 02, 2022

I’ve wanted to have vision correction for the longest time. I have worn glasses since the age of 7 and contacts from my teen years. Now 36 I have no of ever seeing without having to have them on. With vision at -6 I couldn’t do anything in my daily life without having them on. I chose to do the SMILE correction surgery with Dr. Wang this past week and already I see 20/20! It’s the most amazing feeling to wake up and see my children and my husband without looking for my glasses. The moment surgery was completed I got extremely emotional being able to see in the room immediately. Dr. Wang is an extremely talented surgeon and deeply cares for his patients. He even prayed with me before he began the surgery. That alone made me feel calm and at ease. All of his staff is wonderful and welcoming. You leave feeling like family and not a patient. I highly recommend Wang Vision Institute for your vision correction! You only want what is best for your eyes. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 27, 2022

Where to begin? I recently got SMILE surgery at Wang Vision Institute in mid-April, only to be able to type this message comfortably without glasses before May. The consultation was smooth and professional and I was relieved that I could be a candidate for SMILE. I was also able to learn more about the process through their webinar sessions. Dr. Wang and his staff are so nice. Kayla Sinyard answered all my questions. As much as I wanted the surgery, I was still very scared before the procedure. Dr. Wang really put me at ease and the surgery was fairly quick. I am grateful and pleased with the results!! I had extreme nearsightness to the point that I would need glasses when I lost my glasses. I also had GPC which prevented me from wearing contacts. To have this surgery done and have my site back is hard to describe on how amazing it is. I'm blessed and happy and plan to share the experience with my coworkers and family. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from G.R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 14, 2022

If I could give Wang Vision 200 stars I would! My experience was incredible and I am so thankful for my new and improved vision. I was so very anxious and had wanted a procedure done for years but was too nervous. After extensive and helpful conversations I decided to go with the SMILE procedure and Dr. Wang was so kind and helpful throughout the entire process. His staff was so comforting and I felt no pain or discomfort at all. The investment could not be more with it. I am four days after my procedure now and feel amazing and can see crystal clear. Dr. Wang changed my life and I am so grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 13, 2022

I recently had the opportunity to visit and have the SMILE procedure done to correct my vision. I had an AMAZING experience from start to finish. The appointment set up process was smooth and easy-- as the New Patient Coordinator was helpful and responsive. When going into the office, i was able to have my consult and procedure done on the same day. The entire office was kind and pleasant-- and didn't mind answering the millions of questions that came to mind. When preparing for the procedure, I was walked through the entire process-- making me feel confident of what i was walking into. Dr Wang was also very enthusiastic and knowledgable. He definitely made me feel comfortable throughout the whole procedure. He even prayed before we began-- which calmed my nerves. The procedure itself was painless and QUICK. Now that I'm a week post-op, I am so very happy that I did it-- and should have done it sooner! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Apr 01, 2022

I had (very) recently went and had an eye exam (in a mall location) and was treated with urgency, and the results were still very blurry vision (even with a new prescription.) I was frustrated and thought maybe I was going blind- that's when I decided, I was tired of not being able to see and, I wanted Lasik so I called Wang Vision. They were able to schedule a consultation within days. I was then able to have my SMILE lasik the same day (as my consultation), so no stress or high anxiety of waiting for weeks.The staff from start to finish were all very nice, extra accommodating, and very thorough. When they performed my eye exam, I was seeing (with glasses) 20/300. My prescription was 2 points off. (The mall exam did not perform a thorough exam and gave me a bad prescription). What a difference clear vision makes, and without foggy glasses!!! This truly was a life changing experience that I wish I had done sooner. The procedure was simple, quick and literally painless. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from H.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Feb 22, 2022

Loved and enjoyed every minute of my SMILE procedure done last week. Already seeing perfect vision with zero dryness. Friendly staff! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 27, 2022

While I only met Dr Joshua Frankel for a brief time during surgery he was very friendly and calming. He did the SMILE procedure on my eyes and one day post op and healing is off to a great start and I have 20/20 vision! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.S.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 20, 2022

Dr. Wang and the entire team are absolutely incredible. I felt completely taken care of through intentional support, continual encouragement, and an absolutely seamless SMILE procedure. From phone calls, email reminders, examinations, and surgery, I've never felt more taken care of. Dr. Wang and the team are literally an answer to prayer. So grateful. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jan 16, 2022

It is life changing to wake up and not have to deal with contacts or glasses. I went from being very nearsighted to 20/20 vision with the SMILE procedure. Wang Vision Institute made the process so easy and their team is amazing! Scheduling is simple, everyone is super nice, and they are sure to keep you completely informed of what to expect next. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.P.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 14, 2021

Dr. Frenkel performed my SMILE surgery and I am absolutely thrilled with the outcome. He was kind, knowledgeable and I felt comfortable entrusting my vision to him. He did an excellent job, and I can now see without glasses or contacts. I am so thankful that I chose Dr. Frenkel for my surgery and so glad I decided to have this surgery done. I would recommend Dr. Frenkel and Wang Vision Institute to anyone looking to have top notch care! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.B.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 11, 2021

Dr. Freckle completed my smile surgery at Ming Wang Institute. He was amazing!! He was honest and encouraging. He and his assistant coached me through the whole process. They were truly amazing and I got my Eyesight back! I was 20/20 the very next day. My vision was horrible! I highly recommend him and Ming Wang Institute! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from A.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Dec 09, 2021

This changed my life. My livelihood depends on my eyes, and I chose Wang Vision because of their reputability. I went in for a consult, and although I was not a candidate for Lasik, I was still a candidate for SMILE. I was fortunate enough to get my procedure done on the same day! I was pretty nervous about starting the procedure, but the staff was amazing and made me feel so comfortable and relaxed (as I could be lol). The procedure was quick, and Dr. Wang commanded so much confidence and care, there was little for me to worry about. The techs during the procedure were very helpful in coaching me through the process too! I'm so glad I chose Wang Vision since it is the only institute in the state that offers the SMILE procedure that I needed, I didn't need to be referred anywhere else. Post procedure, it was much more comfortable than others' experience with Lasik, and I am already seeing 20/20 after four days. I highly recommend SMILE if you are a candidate! I would only trust my visi More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 27, 2021

Went in for a consult for corrective eye surgery and was able to get SMILE surgery the same day! Everyone in the office was super friendly and helpful. I was originally interested in lasik, but their team was able to answer any/all questions I had about SMILE surgery and the outcome has been amazing! Would highly recommend Wang Vision Institute to a friend. Dr. Frenkel did a great job making me aware of what he was doing as well as keeping me calm and focused throughout the procedure. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from B.A.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 12, 2021

I finally decided it was time to look into getting Lasik eye surgery and completed the webinar offered by Wang Vision Institute. I learned a lot about the procedure and even received a discount for scheduling a free consultation appointment. It was easy to schedule and they give excellent directions on where to park and go once you get there. I had the SMILE procedure done by Dr. Frenkel and couldn't be happier. It was painless, quick, and highly effective. Im still in disbelief that I'm seeing this well with my own eyes and im no longer dependent on contacts! Dr. Frenkel and his staff went above and beyond to talk me through each step of the procedure and ensure I was comfortable. They played music and even gave me a blanket and something to squeeze if I was anxious during the procedure. They even texted to check on how I was doing that evening. My only regret is I didn't do this years ago! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.H.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 27, 2021

I love Dr. Frenkel! I was A little nervous about my SMILE reduction surgery. He came in and answered all of my questions on why he chose SMILE vs LASIK and why some doctors like SMILE and why some don’t. I am In the healthcare field so needless to say I had quite a few questions because I did my research. He made me feel at ease and the surgery was a breeze! Definitely recommend Dr. Frenkel and Wang Vision Institute. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from J.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Aug 08, 2021

Great experience! Got SMILE a couple days ago and was treated by Dr. Frenkel and Dr. Johnson. They were both incredibly professional and friendly, walking me through the entire process and answering any questions I had. The procedure was quick and painless, and my eyes are healing as expected. Every other staff member that I interacted with was fantastic. Definitely recommend the Wang Institute for refractive surgery! More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.